Brain Cupcakes

2 Nov

Zombies just love ‘em – big, juicy, delicious brains! B and I wanted to bake something as equally tempting and mouth-watering for our mortal friends and so we made Brain Cupcakes.

The final product

I had big plans on making these cupcakes with a red velvet recipe so that the insides would resemble deep red blood. In the end, however, I just wanted the easiest option so I stuck with a recipe that I am already familiar with. I have used this recipe numerous times and so the only adjustment that I made was to add food colouring to the mixture to make the cupcakes pink. We also made the cream cheese frosting a deep pink to better resemble brains. The piping was really quite easy and it really didn’t take us very long to finish them all. These turned out way better than I thought they would and it was no surprise that these were very popular with the mortals.

DSC_0001-1

Piping the "brains"

The recipe is based on the Birthday Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting that I made earlier this year. https://greedyguts.wordpress.com/2009/03/05/cupcakes/

2 Responses to “Brain Cupcakes”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Halloween « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - October 20, 2010

    […] talking about creepy witches fingers, covered in warts and finished with a bloody fingernail. Cupcakes piped to look like pink, delicate brains. Carefully piped gravestone-shaped cookies that are […]

  2. Meringue Bones « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - October 17, 2011

    […] Halloween is almost upon us which means that it is almost time for zombies, ghosts, and vampires. Or if you are a scaredy cat, like me, then it means it is almost time for scary, fun treats, like witches fingers or brain cupcakes. […]

Leave a comment