Meringue Bones

17 Oct

Halloween is almost upon us which means that it is almost time for zombies, ghosts, and vampires. Or if you are a scaredy cat, like me, then it means it is almost time for scary, fun treats, like witches fingers or brain cupcakes.

I’ve really started to embrace Halloween over the past few years and I hate to admit that I have even become one of those people who starts planning their costume in September. Ugh.

The other thing I start planning early is what treats I will be making for Halloween. I’m happy to say that this year I can finally check off these meringue bones as being done (I’ve been aiming to do them for about two years now). These are super fun but it can be a little difficult to get the look just right. Even now, I still have some practice to do. If you can’t find the correct tip (the Wilton #1A) then do what I did and just cut the tip off a disposable pastry bag and it does the trick pretty good. The only benefit of the tip will be a smoother, cleaner finish.

I have to pass on one word of warning: do not, under any circumstances, make these whilst you are at home alone. Not because of the ghouls that may come creeping at this time of the year but because you may not be able to resist dipping into the sweet meringue over and over again. Like I did.

This recipe is from Martha Stewart.

Martha Stewart’s Sweet Bones – Makes about 18

6 large egg whites
1 1/2 cups sugar

Method:
Preheat oven to 200 degrees. Put egg whites and sugar in the heatproof bowl of an electric mixer. Set bowl over a pan of simmering water; whisk constantly until sugar is dissolved and mixture feels warm to the touch, about 5 minutes.

Return bowl to mixer, and fit mixer with the whisk attachment. Beat on high speed until very stiff peaks form, about 8 minutes.

Transfer meringue to a pastry bag fitted with a 1/2-inch plain round tip, such as a Wilton #1A. Pipe bone shapes, each 5 to 6 inches long, onto two baking sheets lined with parchment paper.

Bake until crisp throughout, about 1 hour. Let cool completely on a wire rack.

The original Martha Stewart recipe can be found here.

5 Responses to “Meringue Bones”

  1. Eva Halloween October 17, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    These are ridiculously cute. The frosting bag and I are old enemies, so brain frosting is probably beyond my skill level, but I think I might be able to manage meringue bones!

    • greedyguts October 17, 2011 at 11:22 am #

      The brain frosting is surprisingly easy actually, you just need to focus on frosting them a half at a time. I think I found the meringues to be slightly harder to get right than the brains. Hope you try them though!

  2. macmaker October 17, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    wow! those are genius.

  3. Kevin | 604 Foodtography October 19, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    SOOOO Cute. My my.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Huesos de merengue | Recetas para bebés y niños. Alimentación durante el embarazo y la infancia - June 2, 2012

    […] a 100ºC (200ºF) durante 1 hora aproximadamente. Vía: greedyguts.wordpress.com Pin […]

Leave a Reply

