Halloween

20 Oct

You can feel it. There is a distinct chill in the air. Nights are arriving earlier, eager to begin their reign. The moon is almost full, casting shadows across the dark nights. Grab your children and lock up the pets, Halloween is near. And whilst it brings ghouls and witches and black cats, it also brings with it, baking. And fun baking at that. Baking that will make children squeal and adults squirm.

I’m talking about creepy witches fingers, covered in warts and finished with a bloody fingernail. Cupcakes piped to look like pink, delicate brains. Carefully piped gravestone-shaped cookies that are assembled to make a haunted cemetery. Halloween is the time to let your imagination run wild and show your inner ghoul.

This year I will be making all of my favourites again but I am also considering making meringue bones, a recipe from Martha Stewart. These look pretty fun which is convenient as I love meringue. Other possible contenders are spider cupcakes, and white chocolate ghosts, which seems to be a pretty straight-forward recipe. One thing is for sure, I am definitely going to have to limit the amount of recipes that I will attempt as this Halloween baking “research” has the potential to get out of control. I’m glad that my costume will be loose-fitting this year – that means I can devour plenty of these morbid treats. 🙂

3 Responses to “Halloween”

  1. ihath October 26, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

    These are such cool ideas. Last year for halloween I made edible eye balls by dipping tibits in white chocolate then dark chocolate. I using some red icing to make the eyes look blood shot. It was a huge favorite with the kids

    • greedyguts October 26, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

      Ooooh, that’s a great idea! I might have to steal that one! 😀

  2. eftychia November 2, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    Wow!! All three look so good!

Leave a Reply

