12 Days of Cookies – Glazed Lemon Cookies – Day 11

11 Dec

After days of heavy rain here in Vancouver, I think I was desperately looking for a “zing!” when I selected Martha Stewart’s Glazed Lemon Cookies to bake for Day 11. When you use real lemons (not a weird bottled lemon juice), you can certainly taste it; your saliva glands get all tingly and you may, or may not, make an ugly I’m-eating-sour-lemons face. These cookies called for lemon juice and lemon zest for the cookie and for the glaze, so there is no denying the citrus kick in these.

Do you remember on Day 8 when I said I was too lazy to make the glaze for the Chewy Oatmeal Cookies? Well, in an effort to redeem myself as a baking slob, I did make the glaze for this cookie and personally, I don’t think the cookie needed it. Without the glaze, the cookie was a good balance of slightly sweet and a touch of citrus. When I added the glaze, they became too sweet and too citrus-y. See, there is a benefit to my laziness!

The appeal in these cookies was, not only in the gentle hint of lemon, but also just how quick this recipe was to pull together. If you also skip the glaze, these cookies could be fresh on the table in 30 to 45 minutes. Boom! Cookie bomb. I’d absolutely bake these again…sans lemon glaze.

Leave a Reply

