12 Days of Cookies – Swirled Sugar Cookies – Day 1

1 Dec

‘Tis the season for cookies! I need some motivation to get back into the kitchen and so I am dedicating the first 12 days of December to cookies! I will make a new cookie each day until the 12th and I will post my successes and failures here. Day 1 doesn’t exactly give me a lot of confidence going into this challenge.

I have been using the same sugar cookie recipe for years and I still love it. Every Christmas, I bake sugar cookies but this is the first time that I’ve tried to make “Swirled Sugar Cookies”. I found this method of making them look “swirled” on Pinterest (Oh Pinterest, you are full of good ideas). What I realize now – after baking them – is that I should have followed the very detailed instructions from the blog Salt Tree.

As I was struggling to make them, I cursed Pinterest for making difficult things look so easy. Take a look at these Pinterest fails and you’ll see that I’m not alone! I now realize that it was completely my fault for not reading the instructions (who knew that water helped the sprinkles stick to the dough?!) so I would actually like another attempt at these. Maybe Day 13?

3 Responses to “12 Days of Cookies – Swirled Sugar Cookies – Day 1”

  1. Trèsors De Luxe { tresors deluxe } December 1, 2014 at 1:05 pm #

    The swirled sugar cookies are DREAMY! Cheers, Trèsors De Luxe http://www.tresorsdeluxe.com

  2. Laura December 1, 2014 at 2:49 pm #

    What a darling idea! I suspect you’ll have some very happy friends and coworkers as a result. Can’t wait to see what comes out of your kitchen over the next 11 days.

  3. greedyguts December 1, 2014 at 11:31 pm #

    Thanks Laura. Indeed, there were some very happy people at work today! Even more so when I told them there would be 12 days of them!

Leave a Reply

