“Nest” Cupcakes

1 Feb

Like a lot of women people I know, I probably spend too much time on Pinterest. I waste a lot of time on there, just browsing and pinning things “for later”. In my defence, I have actually made quite a few things that I’ve pinned (cards, food, drinks) and I’ve used some of my pins for party-planning, so I feel that Pinterest can be very useful. When my best friend recently had her bird/nest-themed baby shower, I knew I could find inspiration on Pinterest…and that I did. These Martha Stewart-inspired cupcakes were just so cute that I had to make them.

I didn’t actually use Martha’s recipe until it got to the decorating instructions (the recipes for the cupcakes and frosting below are ones I’ve used many times before). Quite simply, all you are doing is putting some frosting on a cupcake, digging a little well into the frosting, covering the frosting in toasted coconut, and placing some of the eggs in the well. I found it easier than trying to frost cupcakes as people can’t see the mess you’ve made of the frosting with all that coconut on it!

The eggs are the mini Cadbury candy eggs, which you can buy in the stores all year round (I bought mine at London Drugs). If you are making these for a baby shower (really, I don’t when else you would want nest cupcakes) and if you know what sex the baby will be, you could theme it with pink or blue eggs. We didn’t know what sex the baby will be so I went with a mix of both, however, I think the blue ones look like Robin’s eggs so they were my favourite.

Vanilla Cupcakes – Makes over 24

250g unsalted butter, softened
1 ½ cups caster sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
4 eggs
3 cups self-raising flour (using cake flour makes these extra fluffy)
1 cup milk

Method:
Preheat oven to 180C. Beat butter, sugar, ¼ teaspoon salt and vanilla until light and fluffy. Add eggs, 1 at a time, and beat well after each addition.

Add ½ the sifted flour and ½ the milk and stir until combined, then add remaining flour and milk and stir until combined.

Line two 12-hole muffin tins with paper cake cases. Spoon 2 tablespoons of mixture into each paper case and bake for 20 minutes, or until a skewer inserted into the centre of the cake comes out clean. Cool cakes in tin.

Butter-cream Icing:

1 cup butter, softened
5 cups sifted icing sugar
½ cup whipping cream
½ tsp vanilla

Method:
In a large bowl, beat butter until light and fluffy. Alternately beat in sugar and cream, making 2 additions of sugar. Beat in vanilla.

Final steps:
Once the cupcakes have cooled, frost the cupcakes generously and use your thumb to make a well in the middle of the cupcake. Dip the frosted cupcake into your toasted coconut flakes and fill the well with three mini eggs.

One Response to ““Nest” Cupcakes”

  1. serverwithabigappetite February 10, 2014 at 4:13 pm #

    that looks so amazing. I’m drooling!

Leave a Reply

