Photo Visit – Bo Laksa King – February 2013

15 Feb

You may remember that some time ago I was trying to uncover Vancouver’s best laksa. Well, let it be known that the search hasn’t stopped but it hasn’t been progressing as fast as I would like. Throughout my search I have sampled laksa from Freshbowl, Tropika, Cafe D’Lite, and Banana Leaf. I was still looking for other contenders and the place recommended to me the most was Bo Laksa King. Hell, I had to go! Bo is the LAKSA KING!!

Admittedly, this recent visit was not my first time to BLK (let’s keep this short and sweet, shall we?), but it is just so damn far from my place that repeat visits are few and far between. BLK is a little hole-in-the-wall place on East Hastings (just after Kamloops Street) and is one of those blink-and-you’ll-miss-it places. Thankfully, I knew what I was looking for – a big, hearty bowl of laksa!

Laksa, minus the fish balls – $7.50Roti Canai – $3.99

Let’s get to the important stuff – the laksa! I found it to be very good and probably the most authentic laksa that I’ve had in Vancouver, although I felt it still lacked a little something. Overall, there was a good depth of flavour although I would have preferred a bit more heat to mine. I also found the soup to be quite thick, almost like a wet curry, rather than “soupy” – yes, me just being particular! The best part about BLK’s laksa was that they gave you a choice of yellow noodles or rice noodle – one of the things that makes a laksa for me, is the yellow noodles. I was pretty happy with the laksa and the roti was also very good – slightly crunchy and flaky on the outside. The sauce that was served with the roti was lackluster as it too watery and not enough flavour for my liking.

I wish that Bo Laksa King was a little closer because then I would visit it more regularly. The prices are wallet-friendly (cash only), the food seems authentic, and I’d say that their laksa is the best that I have found on my search, thus far, but I feel that there must be better out there. Any recommendations?

Bo Laksa King's Bubbles & Bits on Urbanspoon

One Response to “Photo Visit – Bo Laksa King – February 2013”

  1. Raj March 14, 2015 at 11:50 am #

    I really like the laksa at Deer Garden on Fraser street and 50 something. Maybe you can give it a try.

Leave a Reply

