The Dirty Apron Cooking Class – Comfort Foods

7 Feb

After doing two classes in two days at The Dirty Apron cooking school, I feel as though I have gained about 20 pounds. Is this something I’m proud of? No, but I feel you should know that I will be the size of a small, over-priced Vancouver home very soon.

Last night, lured in by a tempting menu, I found myself seated right back at the same communal table that I had been at only 24 hours earlier, awaiting for my second class to begin. For those who haven’t read my post from earlier this week, I also completed another class on Tuesday night, which spurred me to return immediately. As we were finishing up the Primo Italiano class, the Chef casually mentioned that there were spots available in the Comfort Foods class before rattling off the menu; Lobster Mac & Cheese, Wild Mushroom and Truffle Chicken Pot Pie, and Coffee Bailey’s Sticky Toffee Pudding with Apple Cinnamon Ice Cream. My ears pricked up when I heard what was on the agenda and that is how I found myself back at The Dirty Apron last night.

I won’t go into the whole process about the cooking class as I’ve already done that twice, here and here, so let me just launch into the menu and the dishes that we cooked.

Lobster Mac and CheeseWild Mushroom and Truffle Chicken Pot PieCoffee Bailey’s Sticky Toffee Pudding with Apple Cinnamon Ice Cream

Obviously this menu is very heavy and dense and I could barely eat after the first course! A little tip from me to you; pace yourself. Yes, the lobster mac and cheese tastes incredible with its creamy, rich sauce that you made, but if you eat the whole thing (guilty!) you may not be able to eat the rest of the dishes. Who am I kidding? Of course I ate them but I did have to bring some left-overs home.

The Comfort Foods class was a slower pace than the Primo Italiano and it felt like there was less actual cooking to do. The recipes were also not very difficult (which could be good or bad, depending on why you are going to the class in the first place) but they all tasted like little bites of heaven, particularly on a dark, wet February night in Vancouver. Seriously, what is not to like about this menu? Bring your fat pants.

2 Responses to “The Dirty Apron Cooking Class – Comfort Foods”

  1. Anne Smithen March 5, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

    Your pot pie looks just delicious! I am just looking for some reviews and personal opinions on Dirty Apron as I have just found it in this list of most popular cooking classes in Vancouver. Looks like you are really enjoying the course and I am seriously thinking of taking it up too. They say they also teach cooking the food of many different cuisines. Which one can you recommend?

    • greedyguts March 6, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

      Thank you for your comment. I personally enjoyed the French class and the Italian classes, but those are some of my favourite cuisines. My suggestion would be to either pick your favourite cuisine, or choose a class which you will learn the most at (one that pushes you out of your comfort zone, perhaps?).

Leave a Reply

