Tomato, Basil, and Chickpea Salad

23 Jan

I must admit that I’m feeling pretty happy with myself at the moment. As we near the final week of January, I’ve not only managed to stick to my resolution of limiting my consumption of sugar, wheat, and meat (albeit there have been some permitted indulgences), but more importantly I’ve been eating waaaaay more beans and legumes than I’ve ever eaten in my life. I’ve really been making an effort to cook more recipes that include beans and I’ve been rewarded with some wonderfully tasty dishes, such as this one. As a bonus of cooking with beans, I’ve been finding that most of the recipes come together quite quickly (this one took about 10 minutes), meaning that I’m spending less time in the kitchen – always a plus!

I don’t know about you but I’m always looking for new dishes to take to work for lunch. This recipe is perfect for lunch (pack some gum!) as you can make it in advance and it doesn’t leave you sluggish, but fills you up more than a regular salad would. This dish would also be absolutely perfect in the summer. The tomatoes, basil, and garlic give it a Mediterranean taste, and it is quite tangy and light. Served at a BBQ, or taken to a picnic, this is a fast, tasty, healthy salad, with fairly few ingredients. It is certainly worth adding to your recipe collection if you are wanting to add a few more bean dishes to your diet.

Tomato, Basil, and Chickpea Salad

1 can (410ml) of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 pint of grape tomatoes, halved
A large handful of basil leaves
3 cloves of garlic, minced (lessen this amount if you don’t like a lot of garlic)
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
2 teaspoon olive oil
1/2 tablespoon honey
Pinch of salt

Method:
Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl. Allow to chill for 20 minutes before serving.

Recipe credit unknown, but I don’t claim to have created this recipe.

2 Responses to “Tomato, Basil, and Chickpea Salad”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tangy Lemon Smashed Chickpea Salad « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - January 24, 2013

    […] with the Tomato, Basil, Chickpea Salad that I made this week, this recipe can be made in advance and kept in the fridge for easy […]

  2. Healthy foods in disguise! | The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - March 21, 2013

    […] into my food, which I’ll share with you as I find them. With these changes, and all of the bean dishes, and mushroom pâté, and kale chips that I’ve been making, I feel like I’ve come a […]

Leave a Reply

