Vij’s Green Onion and Coconut Chickpea Curry

30 Dec

One of my goals for 2013 is to eat more beans. Yes, it’s a lame goal. It’s not as exciting, as say travelling to Italy for an incredible food and wine adventure, or kayaking with whales (both things I aspire to do) but it is something that is easily accomplished and good for me, so I’ll stick with it.

After some investigating, I realized that I don’t really have a lot of recipes in my knowledge bank that use beans. In an effort to expand my bean meal options, I’ve been looking at different recipes and came across this curry recipe from none other than Vikram Vij (I found it through a website, Dearlove.ca, that a friend of mine blogged about recently). I highly recommend checking out the link to Dearlove.ca as he has some helpful tips regarding less salt, more tomatoes – that kinda thing. The recipe below is the original.

The curry was really tasty and a little lighter on the traditional Indian flavours than other curry dishes that I’ve had, but with quite a bit of heat. I liked that it all came together fairly quickly and the ingredients were cheap. It ended up making a lot so I will be definitely making this curry again so that I can have the left-overs for lunches too.

By the way, another goal of mine is to make five new recipes a month so I’m cheating and getting a head-start on January. Shhhhh…

Vij’s Green Onion and Coconut Chickpea Curry – Serves 6 (estimate)

½ cup canola oil
1 tbsp cumin seeds
1 large onion, finely chopped
2 medium tomatoes, chopped
1½ tsp salt
5 tbsp finely chopped fresh ginger
4 tbsp finely chopped jalapeno chilies
3 cans (19 oz/540mL) chickpeas, drained
1 cup coconut milk
8 green onions, green parts only, sliced

Method:
Heat oil in a medium saucepan for 1 minute. Add cumin seeds and let sizzle about 30 seconds.

Add onion and saute 8 to 10 minutes until browned. Stir in tomatoes, salt, ginger and jalapenos. Saute 5 to 8 minutes or until oil glistens on top.

Add chickpeas and coconut milk. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium low, cover and simmer for 5 to 8 minutes. Add green onions and cook 1 minute longer.

Leave a Reply

