My Year in Review – 2012

26 Dec

What a year 2012 has been and I, for one, am sad to see it end. This year has been absolutely incredible and it has surpassed all of my expectations – I honestly don’t know that I could have crammed much more in! This year has brought with it a lot of firsts, such as visits to world-famous restaurants, as well as the return of familiar experiences, such as Araxi’s Long Table Dinner. So here is my 2012 in food…

Doing a cooking class in Thailand

This had been on my bucket-list for many years and I was so happy when I finally got the chance to tick this one off. Sure, health and safety wise, it was a little dodgy but the food was great and I learned some tips for making some of my favourite food (Thai curries).

Eating incredibly well in Thailand

I absolutely adore Thai food and was adamant that I would only eat Thai food the whole time that I was away. I did, and boy, was it good. One particularly strong meal that stands out was a memorable house prawn curry and Panang curry from a little outdoor restaurant in Ko Lanta. I would travel back there just for those curries!

Eating in San Francisco

It was with much excitement that B and I embarked on our trip to San Francisco. Reservations were made and plenty of good food was eaten. Highlights were Flour + Water, Blue Bottle Cafe, Miette, and Delfina. I would love to return with some more time to try more local favourites in the area.

The French Laundry, Napa Valley

Wow! This is now on my list of the best (and most expensive) meals that I’ve ever eaten. The French Laundry was excellent, from the food to the incredibly attentive service. The whole meal was memorable, but the Foie Gras En Terrine and the Oysters and Pearls dishes stood out as favourites. It was also my first foray into the world of high-end, fine dining.

Araxi Long Table Dinner in Whistler

The Long Table Dinner that Araxi puts on every summer has become mine and B’s traditional way of celebrating our wedding anniversary. This is a fun summer event that has plenty of free-flowing booze, warm days, and delicious local food. This year’s location was a little disappointing after last year’s stunning event, yet we still had a great day.

Wine Tasting in the Okanagan

I really enjoy travelling to the Okanagan in the summer. The heat reminds me of Australia and getting to spend time with family whilst wine-tasting is a great way to spend an afternoon or two. We picked up a few bottles of wine, which we will be keeping for upcoming celebrations.

Dinner at Eleven Madison Park, New York

This was the best meal that I’ve ever eaten in my life! Eleven Madison was a complete experience (see my post for the whole review) and one that I highly recommend. I’m not sure that this experience could be topped.

Dinner at Per Se, New York

After such an oustanding dinner at Thomas Keller’s, The French Laundry, we had to visit his New York restaurant whilst we were in town. It didn’t live up to the hype for us, although we might have been a bit harsh with our comparisons to The French Laundry. It was still an absolutely amazing experience, but we had been spoiled by The French Laundry.

Eating in New York

For two foodies, New York is a pilgrimage. We had so many places to visit in such a short space of time and we had some incredible meals along the way. Besides Eleven Madison Park and Per Se, we were also impressed with Mario Battali’s Del Posto and Eataly, and The Spotted Pig.

p1050377

Big Guns Dinner at Araxi in Whistler

As with the Long Table Dinner, we have started making Big Guns part of our annual events. The dinner isn’t cheap but it is amazing. Big Guns is impressive with its paired wines and excellent food dishes.

p1060524

Eating out in London

Although I didn’t manage to hit any high-end restaurants whilst in London, I did get to visit a Jamie Oliver restaurant and a Gordon Ramsay restaurant, so I was pretty excited by that. The meal that stood out as the most memorable was easily the Lobster Sandwich from Burger and Lobster. It was absolutely sinful.

Stuffing my face in Paris

With only 30 hours to spend in Paris, I made sure that I was eating almost the whole time. I jammed my trip with visits to food markets, bakeries, chocolatiers, and a visit to one of the “Best Restaurants in the World”.

Las Vegas (post pending)

A few weeks ago myself and 9 others travelled to Las Vegas to help my sister celebrate her 30th birthday. It was a crazy, fun time (Oh Vegas!) but we also managed to squeeze in some good eats. A few of us visited Gordon Ramsay Steak restaurant in the Paris hotel and indulged in his well-known Beef Wellington. I can see now why he is so famous for it. We also made a visit to Bouchon Bakery and Bouchon, as well as having a great Spanish tapas dinner at Jaleo, which is a restaurant by José Andrés.

After an epic year in 2012, I really don’t know what 2013 will bring – I have no firm plans going into the new year but I do know that it will be a year of change. Travel and food will always be on the cards but so far, I’m just going with the flow, happy to have had such a fabulous year with the best companion that I could have ever asked for, my partner-in-crime, B.

3 Responses to “My Year in Review – 2012”

  1. Angie January 3, 2013 at 11:51 pm #

    French Laundry and PerSe in one year! Wow, what a great year for you! 🙂 Funny, I loved French Laundry, but as our first super fine dining experience, it was mildly overwhelming. Would love to go back one day. By the time we hit PerSe two years later we were ready for the experience and I just LOVED it. I found the service at PerSe super top notch, which is what sealed it for me. Either way, a Thomas Keller restaurant is always going to be good. You and B have had quite the foodie adventures! Lucky you and I love reading about them. With kid #2 coming in a few weeks, I will be living vicariously through you for the next few months at least! 🙂

    • greedyguts January 4, 2013 at 9:27 am #

      Hey Angie! I know – we spoiled ourselves rotten last year and it was pretty epic, hence why I’m in serious detox mode at the moment! 🙂 I would absolutely love to go back to French Laundry as it was such a magical experience for us. We found the service more attentive at FL than PS but both were outstanding. Congrats on the pending arrival! I wonder how T will adapt??

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Jaleo – Las Vegas « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - January 7, 2013

    […] round out an epic travel year, I spent a few days in early December celebrating my sister’s 30th birthday in Las Vegas. As […]

Leave a Reply

