Photo Visit – Peaceful Restaurant – December 2012

19 Dec

#110-532 W. Broadway (at Cambie)
Vancouver, BC
V5Z 1E9

T: 604 879 9878
www.peacefulrestaurant.com

Brief Description: A small and simple restaurant specializing in tantalizing Mandarin cuisine and hand-made noodles. Extremely affordable yet does not compromise on taste. Service is spotty.

Do you ever go to a restaurant that you know well, and frequent often, and order the same dishes over and over again, regardless of how many times you go there? I do. I do that at Peaceful Restaurant ALL THE TIME! I tend to always order the same dishes; the Beef Roll, the General Tsao’s Chicken, and the Mu Shu Noodles. I have no justification as to why I continually order these same dishes but recently I decided that enough was enough. It was time to mix things up a bit.

My sis and I ordered two new dishes; the Peaceful House Rice ($11.95) and the “Cat Ears” Pork and Vegetable Stir-fried Noodles ($12.95). Both dishes were delicious and are now in danger of being added to the “must order repeatedly” list.

“Cat Ears” Stir-Fried Noodles

Peaceful Special Fried Rice

The “Cat Ear” noodles, which admittedly is not the most appetizing of names, is a soft and chewy noodle, coated in a tasty sauce and finished with a few basic veg and pork. You can also order this dish vegetarian. The Peaceful Fried Rice has a great full flavour, with lots of veggies, assorted meats, eggs, and is finished with a slight spice.

I tend not to provide much criticism on my blog as I prefer to focus on the positives instead. However, I have to be honest and mention that the service has really been slipping at their West Broadway location. One of the servers on my last visit was just down right rude. Disappointingly, I haven’t seen the wonderfully friendly girl that used to work the front counter in quite some time. I’m hoping that she is just on vacation and that the service picks up again. It would be a shame to recommend a place with such delicious food but completely inconsistent service.

And, lastly, I just read a sign that they have displayed in their restaurant window that said that they have sold their Davie street location to focus on their original location. I am glad to hear this as the two times that I did visit the Downtown restaurant, I was awfully disappointed. I felt like the Davie street location was a bad representation of their original restaurant.

Peaceful Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

