G’day! An introduction to Aussie junk food

28 Nov

There are so many things that I love about Canada but one of the things that I haven’t warmed to at all is Canadian junk food. By junk food, I’m referring to snack foods like chips, biscuits (cookies), candy – things you snack on mindlessly whilst watching a film or TV. I am completely and utterly biased but I truly believe that Australia has some of the best junk food in the world. And the time has come for me to introduce you to some of my favourite junk foods.

Before we start,  you should know that Aussies rarely use the term “candy”.  Instead we use the term “lollies”, which refers to chewy and boiled candies. “Chocolate bars” typically refers to items such as Mars Bars and Snickers Bars, and “chocolate” obviously refers to blocks of chocolates, like Cadbury’s. “Pop” or “soda” is generally referred to as “soft drinks”.

Here we go…

Strawberries & Creams

These chewy, vanilla and strawberry flavoured lollies, are some of my personal favourites and are perfect for mindless snacking. I love biting the “strawberry” off the “cream” and then chewing on the “cream”.

Milko

You can barely find these extremely chewy lollies anymore but back when I was growing up these could be found at every corner store. There used to be a trio of flavours available; Redskins (raspberry flavoured), Spearmints (obviously spearmint flavoured), and Milko (a vanilla-like flavour). I used to pool my pocket money with friends to buy handfuls of them and have lost a filling or two to the taffy-like consistency. Totally worth it.

Clinkers

Clinkers are a hard, crunchy, meringue-like lolly covered in milk chocolate. The fun with Clinkers is that there are three different colours/flavours in each pack and you never know what flavour you are going to get. For some reason, I always seem to end up with the pineapple flavour (yellow), which is my least favourite flavour, but it never stopped me going back for more.

Twisties

I’ve never really been into potato chips because I’ve always been distracted by Twisties. These cheese flavoured chips are in a league of their own. I don’t really have anything to compare them to (except maybe Cheezies) but the flavours are quite different. Twisties also come in chicken flavour but I’ve always been a loyal cheese fan.

Violet Crumble

Violet Crumble falls into the chocolate bar category, although there is very little chocolate involved. The majority of the bar is a hard, crunchy honeycomb (like “seafoam“). It is similar to a Crunchie but they differ in the fact that a Crunchie is a light, almost porous, honeycomb, whereas a Violet Crumble is much firmer and shatters, rather than crunches. B is addicted to these after our trip to Australia last year.

Red Frogs

The funny thing about Red Frogs is that I don’t actually know what flavour they are meant to be! They are just always referred to as “red” or “green” frogs but I don’t believe an actual flavour is ever referenced. Regardless, they are completely addictive with their chewy, jelly-like consistency. Yum!

Cherry Ripe

Cherry Ripes have been around for as long as I can remember but they really got popular in the 80’s (I can still remember the ads on TV selling dreamy Cherry Ripe). From the name it is pretty obvious that they are cherry-flavoured (but not really cherry) treats. The cherry is mixed with coconut and then covered in dark chocolate. Mmmm! Best served, in my opinion, at room temperature when the chocolate is soft.

So there you have it – a brief introduction to some of the junk food that I spent my youth trying to acquire, and now, as an adult, I still find myself longing for. There are many others that I could introduce you to (Tee Vee Snacks, Pods, Minties, Fantales, Hundreds & Thousand biscuits) but this was all I could get my grubby little hands on whilst in the UK.

Along with family and constant sunshine, junk food is one of the things about Australia that I really do miss. As someone with a sweet-tooth, I have devoured many packets of lollies in my time. For the time being, I will have to make do with my care packages from home. Sob sob.

One Response to “G’day! An introduction to Aussie junk food”

  1. katy scaia November 29, 2012 at 1:39 am #

    when I was in Australia. I tried every kind of Allen s gummies I called them, and All of the Arrnot’s biscuits.One thing I don;t miss is their coffee,

Leave a Reply

