Health Loaf

25 Nov

After being away from my kitchen for almost two weeks, I was desperate to get back in there for some serious chill time. The kitchen is my happy place. A place where I can gather and sieve through my thoughts, whilst also creating delicious treats from scratch.

Today I baked this “Health Loaf” from a recipe that my Mum shared with me. I grew up eating this loaf and, whilst I can now see that claiming it to be a “health” loaf is probably a bit of a stretch, I still find it a healthier option to most of the other baked treats that I make. And by healthier I mean that there is a lot of fibre in this loaf. Enough said.

Slices are best enjoyed when the loaf is slightly warm and with a thin spread of butter. I made a slight amendment and halved the amount of sugar in the recipe (taking it down to just 1/4 cup) so that it wouldn’t be overly sweet, as the apricots and sultanas (raisins) add a sweetness of their own. This recipe was handed down to me by my Mum so I have no-one to credit the recipe to but her, although she doesn’t claim to have created the recipe.

Health Loaf
1 cup of bran buds (I used Nature’s Path “Smart Bran”)
1 cup shredded coconut
1/2 cup sugar (can decrease amount to 1/4 cup for less sweetness)
1/2 cup dried apricots, diced
1/2 cup sultanas/raisins
1 cup milk
1 cup self-raising flour

Method

In a bowl, soak all of the ingredients, except for the self-raising flour, for 1 hour. After the hour, add the 1 cup of self-raising flour and mix in to the wet mixture. Bake in a well-greased and floured loaf tin for one hour at 350 F (or 180 C). Allow to cool on a baking rack.

Leave a Reply

