A few of my favourite things…cupcakes!

4 Nov

I admit it, I have a sweet tooth. So it should come as no surprise that I love cupcakes. I have a particular weakness for fresh out of the oven, still slightly warm, plain vanilla cupcakes. My favourite toppings are peanut butter frosting and butter-cream frosting, but almost anything will do (except canned frosting…quite simply, no, no, no!).

Cupcakes are in my book of awesome because:

1/ They are precisely enough to satisfy a sugar craving as they aren’t too big, nor too small.

2/ You can quickly, and with very limited fuss, bake a batch of cupcakes and have them ready to eat in less than an hour. (Hello cupcake batter!)

3/ It is much harder to mess up baking cupcakes than an actual full-size cake.

4/ They can be so damn cute!

I am quite particular about my cupcakes though. I only like cupcakes baked from scratch (and really they are so easy to bake there should be no reason to cut corners) and I don’t like a lot of frosting. I mostly end up scraping a lot of it off as I prefer to be able to taste, and enjoy, the cake rather than just a mouthful of frosting.

What are your favourite type of cupcakes? Do you prefer to buy them or bake them yourself?

4 Responses to “A few of my favourite things…cupcakes!”

  1. daisyandthefox November 4, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    these look soooooo yummy!!!
    and i couldn’t agree with you more – why cut corners when homemade cupcakes as are easy (and 10 times for delicious!) 🙂

    my current favorite would have to be… (well i have a few actually 🙂 )
    -raspberry and white choc
    -mango and white choc
    -apple a cinnamon
    -caramel cupcakes

    have you ever had the ones with an easter egg on the inside – they are to die for!! 🙂

    lovely post!!

    Daisy and the Fox

    • greedyguts November 4, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

      Oooh, raspberry and white choc sounds like something I’m going to have to bake! And I love caramel cupcakes (one of my favourites is snickers and caramel!). I’ve not had one with an easter egg inside, now I’m intrigued!

      • daisyandthefox November 4, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

        ooo snickers and caramel sounds delicious!! must give that a go 🙂
        ahh the easter egg ones are simply heavenly, just before the cupcakes are put in the oven you put a easter egg through the centre and then bake (and when they are fresh out of the oven the sweet sweet chocolate oozes out) – its twice as good with a caramel easter egg 🙂 – i will see if i can find a recipe for you 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vancouver’s Sweet Side – Part 3 – Bakeries & Patisseries | The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - February 24, 2013

    […] chain in Vancouver – I find them to be too processed and sweet – so I’d rather bake them myself or hunt for other contenders. Whilst they are not the best cupcakes that I’ve ever had (can […]

Leave a Reply

