Photo Visit – Maenam – October 2012

31 Oct

1938 West 4th Ave
Vancouver, BC
V6J 1M5

T: 604 730 5579
www.maenam.ca

Brief Description: A popular Kitsilano-based restaurant that offers well-executed, modern Thai food. Maenam is friendly on the wallet, without sacrificing quality or ambiance.

I’m quite certain that I would fail to be classified as what is considered a “traditional” housewife (i.e. someone who has dinner on the table every night, someone who cleans). I despise cleaning and, whilst I really do love to cook, I will often be persuaded (quite easily in fact) to take off the apron and head out for dinner.

Evidence of this was just last night when B twisted my rubber arm to go out for dinner, when really we should have had dinner at home. Instead, it was off to one of our favourite local restaurants, Maenam, for a spot of mod-Thai. We tried two new dishes and we also ordered our favourite dish on the menu, the grilled Thai sausage and crispy rice salad. Nom nom!!

Grilled Thai sausage and crispy rice salad – $11

Crispy fried oysters with nahm jim sauce – $12

Stir fried Paradise valley baby back pork ribs – $18

Typically I love everything that Maenam does. The oysters were fabulous (be careful, they are hot) and the sausage salad was as wonderfully balanced as I’ve come to expect, however, I didn’t really enjoy the ribs. It could be that they are pork (I prefer beef ribs) but they just didn’t do it for me.

I love Maenam! I’m always looking for an excuse to return. And, on some nights, I don’t even need an excuse.

One Response to “Photo Visit – Maenam – October 2012”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Photo Visit – Maenam – January 2013 « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - February 4, 2013

    […] favourite salad, the grilled Thai sausage and crispy rice salad, was unavailable whilst Dine Out was on which pushed us to […]

Leave a Reply

