Photo Visit – Minami Restaurant – October 2012

24 Oct

1118 Mainland Street
Vancouver, BC
V6B 2T9

T: 604 685 8080
www.minamirestaurant.com

Those who know me, know that sushi isn’t exactly my favourite type of food, although it has grown on me since I moved to Vancouver. I’d even go as far as to say that this small town gal has gotten slightly more adventurous with what she orders (although you wouldn’t think so from the following post). However, sashimi still makes me green. *shudders* There is just something about eating a big slab of cold fish that turns my stomach. The reason I tell you this is that in spite of not being a big fan of sushi, I am actually excited about a sushi restaurant!

Minami restaurant, sister restaurant to Miku restaurant, opened in the old Goldfish spot in Yaletown earlier in the summer. The reason I am so excited about this particular restaurant is quite simply due to their signature dish, the Aburi Salmon Oshi Sushi, which is pressed local salmon, jalapeño, and miku sauce. It is heavenly and has me longing for it well before I get to the restaurant, and re-living every bite long after I’ve left. It is worth every cent of its $14 price tag. Yeah, I think I’m in love…

 Get in my mouth, Aburi Salmon Oshi Sushi!

Here are some photos from my most recent visit to Minami. For all of you serious sushi lovers, look away now. This is probably the least adventurous food order that you’ve ever seen at sushi restaurant. Seriously.

I know, I know! Not very exciting but the Spicy Pork Gyoza were excellent.

Chicken Nanban- part of the lunch box.

The beautiful colours of the Sashimi Lunch. (B’s dish, not mine!)

Once again, completely un-adventurous with ice-cream and fresh berries, but it was soooo good!

Minami on Urbanspoon

One Response to “Photo Visit – Minami Restaurant – October 2012”

  1. tuonpikou October 24, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    Reblogged this on 2pkshare.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

