New York – General

25 Sep

How do you sum up five days of epic eating in one of the top foodie cities in the world?! I don’t know and that’s why I’m having such a hard time doing it!

I’ll start with some of the smaller places that we popped into for a bite, or a full meal. I will leave Del Posto, Per Se, and Eleven Madison Park, to separate posts each. Let’s start with the list that I had planned out for us:

  • Eataly – I loved Eataly and highly recommend a visit to check out this huge food market. Grab yourself a beer, or a prosecco, and stroll through the market whilst gawking at all the cheese, cured meats, and pasta. Prices aren’t exactly cheap for meals or drinks but they aren’t extravagant. We shared the grande piatto misto di salumi and formaggi ($22) at “La Piazza”, which is a standing food court. We also returned for a plate of pappardelle con pancetta e funghi  ($17) on another day. The rooftop patio, “Birreria” would make a good stop for a cold beer.

Grande piatto misto di salumi and formaggi.

So much cheese at Eataly!

  • Shake Shack – We dropped in to the Time Square location on a busy Friday night but, surprisingly, hardly had to wait at all. The burger was absolutely delicious, however, I was not as taken with the fries or the shake. The fries were a little dry and the shake was too chocolately (I realize that some might think that’s a good thing so it really comes down to personal preference). 

Shake Shack!

  • Wafels and Dinges – We tried multiple times but just couldn’t seem to locate a truck. Boo! Really wanted waffles with bacon.
  • Momofuku Milk Bar – We happened to stumble upon the Urban Space market in the Meat-Packing district where I found a small Momofuku milk bar! I only bought a packet of the birthday truffles, which taste like balls of cookie batter goodness. Be still my beating heart.
  • Momofuku Noodle Bar – We indulged in the extremely fatty pork buns (delicious) and the Momofuku ramen. Now, I don’t wanna be a hater, but I’ve eaten better ramen in Vancouver. Vancouver, you rock! Have been told I should have tried Momofuku’s Ssam Bar instead.

THE Momofuku pork buns.

Momofuku Ramen.

  • The Spotted Pig – Considering how popular this gastropub is, we felt lucky to have only waited 10 minutes for a table. I wouldn’t say the food was outstanding, it was good, but I really liked the atmosphere as it was cozy (i.e. couldn’t swing a cat in there!) and, even though it was loud, it still had a romantic feel. I had the delightful stracciatella with marinated peppers & tomatoes on toast, whilst B ordered the popular burger (too dark inside for photos). The simple dessert of fresh berries and homemade ice cream and shortbread was memorable. Would it be worth waiting in the rumoured hour + line-up? Nah, I think you could find other places on par.
  • The Little Owl – Didn’t have time but I’d like to try next time.
  • Either Pie Face or Tuck Shop – On my insistence, we went to Tuck Shop in the Chelsea Market and I was disappointed by the extremely dry pastry and lacklustre filling. Having grown up on pies, I really expected more from this Aussie meat pie shop.
  • Ladurée – We tried to get here but in the end I had to throw the towel in. It was just too far from where we going that day and our patience was waning.
  • Bouchon Bakery and Magnolia Bakery. We hit both bakeries, Bouchon and Magnolia, as our first stops. We were staying close to Rockefeller Center and there are locations of both close by. Personally, I’d make the trek to the original Magnolia on Bleecker street for the real thing. Having missed out on trying the TKO (Thomas Keller Oreo) whilst in Napa Valley, I made this my priority when I returned to Bouchon. I also got a Nutter Butter cookie, some macarons, and the bacon cheddar scone. What was great about Bouchon in New York was that there was no-line up on both occasions that we visited, unlike the Napa location.

Magnolia Cupcakes

TKO (Thomas Keller Oreo) from Bouchon Bakery.

  • Stumptown CoffeeBlue Bottle Coffee, and Laughing Man Coffee. Coffee was our mission, each and every morning. Thankfully Blue Bottle was close to our hotel in the Rockefeller Center, and we found another location in Chelsea at the Highline. My only complaint with Blue Bottle is that it isn’t hot enough. The latte gets cold almost immediately. The line up at Stumptown was ridiculous, yet we waited. Would I line up for it again? Probably not, unless all I could find was Starbucks, and if that was the case, you know damn right that I’d be more than happy to line-up. We tried, but could not find Laughing Man Coffee. Next time, gadget, next time.

Additions:

  • Bar Boulud: We wanted to sample at least one Daniel Boulud restaurant whilst in town, but couldn’t justify a visit to famed Daniel, so we picked the more affordable casual bistro, Bar Boulud, for a four course brunch ($32 each). Not bad, but not rave-worthy.

Paté Grand-Mére

Squid Ink Pasta.

Quiche of the day.

  • Big Gay Ice Cream! I had to go here after I saw that Anthony Bourdain recommended this place. I ordered The Salty Pimp, which consisted of vanilla ice cream, dulce de leche, sea salt, and chocolate dip. Prepare to line up.

New York is truly a foodie city. You could, like us, spend most of your vacation eating your way around the city, and still not touch on even a smidgen of what the city offers.

Overall, I found the “cheap” eats to be on par with what Vancouver offers. Where I feel that New York is stronger is with its selection of Italian food, and obviously, fine dining. I’m not going to kid myself though, a five day trip to a city with this many food options does not make me an expert so I’m excited to return to New York to sample more of what they have to offer. Stay tuned for my posts on Eleven Madison Park, Per Se, and Del Posto.

5 Responses to “New York – General”

  1. Melissa September 25, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    Sounds like my kind of holiday! Glad you had fun.

  2. Kat September 25, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

    About the gay ice cream, I always find dulce de leche too sweet. So did the sea salt balance that sweetness out? Looking forward to the next NY post.

    • greedyguts September 26, 2012 at 9:34 am #

      Yes, the salt definitely balanced it and they only put on small squirts of dulce de leche so I didn’t find it overly sweet.

  3. Brandy, Shake Shack September 26, 2012 at 10:38 am #

    Thanks so much for taking the time to visit Shake Shack. We were honored to make your to-do list, but even happier that you had the chance to cross us off the list!

    Hope we see you again next time you’re in the city!

    -Brandy, Shake Shack

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Year in Review – 2012 « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - December 26, 2012

    […] Eating in New York […]

Leave a Reply

