Tuna and Bean Salad

22 Aug

I tend to avoid eating red meat during the week, unless I’m eating dinner out. It’s not something I consciously do but I often find myself preferring to eat fish, chicken, or vegetarian options, during the week. I often wonder (more so when I’m eating vegetarian) if I am getting enough protein. When that concern rears its head, I make this dish, which is simple, fairly cheap, and I’m sure has plenty of protein. The longer you let this sit (overnight is preferrable), the better the flavour. It gives the chili and onions time to work their magic on the tuna and the beans.

Tuna and Bean Salad – Serves 4

250g of tinned chunk tuna, in brine, mostly drained.
½ can of drained white beans, such as cannellini or butter beans.
½ to 1 small birdseye red chili, with seeds removed, diced into small pieces.
¼ of a white onion, diced.
¼ of red capscium (pepper), diced.
2 stalks of green onions, sliced.

Method:
Gently mix all ingredients together in a bowl, cover, and allow to sit overnight for the flavours to develop. Serve cold.

Although I didn’t create this recipe, I have no-one to credit as this is a recipe I’ve had in my repertoire for years.

Leave a Reply

