Zucchini Fritters

18 Jul

I find that weekday meals are the hardest dishes to make interesting. It’s challenging to make attempts to eat healthy, cheap, and yet, still be adventurous. Most of the times I leave my cooking experimenting until the weekends but occasionally I do attempt new recipes during the week too, which is what I did last night for dinner.

I got this recipe for “Summer Squash Fritters” from a new blog (to me), Aggie’s Kitchen, that I found through BlogHer and felt that it was a perfect summer evening dish. 1/ It uses zucchini (courgettes), which are in-season at the moment, 2/ It really took no time at all to pull together, especially when using a food processor to grate the zucchini, and 3/ It went really well with a side of salad.

I changed it up a bit (in other words, made it un-healthier) by adding some sour cream and green onions, just to give it a bit of extra flavour. Overall, I was quite impressed with this dish. The straining of the excess water really helped to avoid them being too squishy so make sure you don’t leave that part out! It is vital. I also might attempt to make these in the future with some chilli flakes.

Leave a Reply

