Photo Visit – Sawasdee Thai Restaurant – July 2012

13 Jul

4250 Main Street
Vancouver, BC
V5V 3P9

T: 604 876 4030
www.sawasdeethairestaurant.com

Brief Description: One of only a few authentic Thai restaurants that I’ve discovered in the city. Tucked up on Main street and 27th street, this family-owned restaurant serves up tasty Thai dishes at affordable prices.

I almost want to blow off my “visit three times before reviewing” rule with Sawasdee. Spoiler alert!! So far, I’m really impressed with the food and the service at this friendly restaurant. I was there again this past weekend and even though I could have been extremely content re-ordering exactly what I ordered on my first visit (stuffed chicken wings, panang curry and pad Thai), we opted to order completely new dishes so we could get a better idea of what is on offer at Sawasdee.

Cho Muang – $8.95

I have never seen, let alone tried, the cho muang before. Cho muang is intricate flower-shaped chicken and spice dumplings. I couldn’t help wonder how they managed to shape these so delicately and so true-to-form.

Garlic Beef – $11.50

My favourite dish for the night was the garlic beef. The meat was thinly coated in a sweet/savoury sauce, almost like a marinade, and the dish paired well with the coconut rice that we ordered as a side. The rice had kept its texture well and wasn’t a sloppy mess like other rice sides that I’ve had in the city.

Red Curry with Prawns – $13.95

The red curry with prawns was quite good but without the servers asking about what level of heat you would like, I keep forgetting to order it hotter than their standard curry. Personally, I like a bit of kick to my curries and their regular curry just isn’t hot enough for me. My one suggestion to the servers, who have been extremely friendly, would be to prompt diners for their heat preference.

My final visit is likely going to be very soon, so stay tuned if I haven’t already spoiled the ending…

4 Responses to “Photo Visit – Sawasdee Thai Restaurant – July 2012”

  1. sani panini July 13, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    What great presentations!!

  2. anita July 13, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    I am fascinated by that cho muang dumpling. Why is it purple?

    • greedyguts July 15, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

      That’s a good question, Anita. I have no idea why it is purple – maybe to resemble orchids?

      • anita July 15, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

        Lol I just googled. You’re right, it’s to resemble flowers. Wowww.

Leave a Reply

