Raspberry Napoleon

11 Jul

Next month it will be two years since B and I got married in Whistler – I honestly can’t believe that. Time has absolutely flown by since that day so I can attest that the saying “time flies when you are having fun” is true.

The evening after our wedding we splurged with a romantic dinner for the two of us at Araxi. It was a great wind-down to such an exciting time in our lives. The whole evening was memorable but the dish that stands-out to me as one of the most exquisite dishes that I’ve had the pleasure of eating was the raspberry napoleon. Here is a (not great) shot of this wonder from that evening:

Raspberry Napoleon – Araxi

I have since been longing for that dessert. Perhaps all of my senses were enlighten having just had one of the best days of my life but that dessert still lingers in my mind.

We were back at Araxi last summer, and unfortunately, it wasn’t on their dessert menu. We were back there a few weeks ago, and again, no raspberry napoleon. What is a dessert fiend to do? Thankfully I was gifted with the Araxi cookbook, by Chef James Walt, for Christmas and now that it is raspberry season (and they are much more affordable) I made an attempt to recreate it at home.

Whilst the dish is constructed of three different recipes (one for the sable, one for the raspberry coulis, and one for the Chantilly cream), none are that difficult, in fact, the coulis and the cream are down-right easy. Now that I’ve made it once, I know that this would be a winner at any dinner party (my next guests will be spoilt!) as you can make all of recipes in advance and just construct the dish prior to serving.

The sable is the most finicky of the recipes (lots of time in the fridge prior to baking) so just take that into consideration when making those. Also, the sables came out a bit mis-shaped after baking, so I took the cookie cutter and re-shaped them so they looked much cleaner. These keep well after baking too (and are a great little sweet snack with coffee). I think I need to work on plating skills a bit, but really, who cares about that when this dish tastes as good as it does?! This recipe is on the “to-do” list again before the end of summer.

5 Responses to “Raspberry Napoleon”

  1. chamnolasco July 11, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

    Your shots of this mouth-watering dessert are actually good. 🙂 Your recreation looks more appealing. :p

    • greedyguts July 12, 2012 at 8:39 am #

      Awww, thanks for the kind words.

  2. virginiaplantation July 11, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    This looks so good! I have it now in my items to make at the plantation!

  3. thegoodieplate July 12, 2012 at 7:58 am #

    How beautiful. I bet they taste as good as they look 🙂

  4. VancityAllie July 12, 2012 at 11:26 am #

    Wow amazing job! Looks delicious… Araxi really does make amazing desserts and so do you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

