Gourmet Brunch

21 Jun

Whilst planning our latest gourmet experience, my girlfriends and I discovered that we all have a thing for brunch. Come on, who doesn’t love brunch? Brunch is its own beast – rules don’t apply to brunch like they do for lunch and dinner. It can be sweet. It can be savoury. Carbs are at home at brunch, heck, they ARE brunch! You want bacon? Have it! You want sweet waffles – do it! Want to finish it off with some champagne? Absolutely (just add this orange juice so people don’t think you are a lush). And these reasons are exactly why we changed up our traditional gourmet dinners and made our most recent event a Sunday brunch.

For those who aren’t familiar, the idea behind our gourmet catch-ups is to try new recipes, invest some valuable time with our friends (no boys allowed!), and stuff ourselves almost to the point of exploding with food and booze.

It was an early Sunday morning (for me) and through sleepy eyes I baked maple bacon scones that very morning so they would be still warm when I arrived. We have deemed this one of our most successful events although this was claimed whilst we were in a carb-daze (we have had some pretty outstanding dinners in the past so I’m not going to play favourites).

Some of the dishes that my very talented friends put together were:

Pork Tocino (a Filipino breakfast dish)

Fruit Smoothies 

You can’t have brunch without scrambled eggs…

Bacon Cheddar Waffles (you just got a tad jealous when you saw those, didn’t ya?)

Fruit Salad

Maple Bacon Scones

We also had the obligatory mimosas and coffee to wash all of this down. It was a pretty epic seating and I really did have to go home and nap after all of this delicious food. Thankfully, that is what Sundays are for – relaxing with friends, eating good food, napping. Can’t wait for our next gourmet event!

4 Responses to “Gourmet Brunch”

  1. sybaritica June 22, 2012 at 5:04 am #

    I love the charring on the Pork Tocino … that’s what *I* want for brekkies!

    • greedyguts June 22, 2012 at 8:44 am #

      It was sooo good! I’d never had it before but I will definitely be attempting to remake it at home.

  2. nadineghthorsonx September 21, 2012 at 7:38 am #

    Reblogged this on Nadine Thorson Diary.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Maple Bacon Scones « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - July 22, 2012

    […] you heard correctly. I made a mental note of the recipe and when my girlfriends and I organized a gourmet brunch, I knew exactly which recipe I would be […]

Leave a Reply

