2011…where have you gone?

13 Dec

With less than two weeks until Christmas I think now is a good time to reflect back over the awesome year that it has been. Personally, I have had a great 2011. We have travelled a lot this year and we have eaten a lot this year (evident by my expanding waistline). Food and travel are my two passions so how could I not have a fantastic year?! Although there were many exciting times in 2011, these are my most memorable food moments of the year:

Completing my “Serious Foodie” cooking course. It feels like I completed the course much longer than just a year ago. I found this to be a really informative course that helped shape my confidence in the kitchen and gave me some reliable recipes to beef up my cooking catalogue.

Eating at Gordon Ramsay’s “Maze” restaurant in Melbourne. This was a very big highlight for me as I had never dined in a Ramsay restaurant before but had wanted to for a long time. The added benefit was that we were about a week into a three week vacation to Australia so we indulged big time with champagne, four courses, and coffee before slinking back to our hotel for a long nap. Ahhh…

Dinner with my family at “The Hanuman” in Darwin. Even with the exceptional Thai and Indian food at The Hanuman, this particular dinner was memorable more so because I was with my family, surrounded by humidity, whilst enjoying bowls of spicy Thai curries. That is a dinner worth remembering!

Getting my coffee buzz on in Melbourne. We spent most of our short trip to Melbourne in and out of cafés, drinking perfectly caffeinated lattés and flat whites. Thinking of this time, which was spent chatting over coffee with my new hubby, gives me warm tingling feelings of happiness.

Dining in a private room at “Bouchon” in Las Vegas with friends. I organized for our group of 11 to dine at Bouchon whilst we were in Vegas celebrating B’s 30th. Eating at a Thomas Keller restaurant was enough excitement for me but then they sat us in a private dining room, with our own servers, for the night. My mind was blown. Fabulous food, excellent company, and great Vegas times made for a very memorable evening.

Araxi’s Long Table Dinner at North Arm Farm. The picture below helps tell the story – a hot summer day, surrounded by picturesque mountains, friendly people, oh…and fabulous food! The Long Table Dinner was really the event that catapulted our crush on Araxi into a full-blown love affair. I really can’t think of a better summer experience than dining on magnificent food that has been plucked from the very farm that you are surrounded by.

L’Abbatoir in Vancouver. This well-known Gastown restaurant has been on the lips of food critics all across the country. I have eaten at L’Abbatoir a few times now, and have also dropped in for a few potent cocktails, and it is easy to see why everyone is singing its praises. A very impressive, albeit pricey, addition to the Vancouver food scene.

Araxi’s Big Guns Dinner in Whistler. What an evening! This event came with a $250 price-tag but was well-worth the splurge when you take into consideration the quality of the food and wine pairings. Some of the wines we had still linger in my mind – and I’m not even a wine connoisseur! The menu was so suited to my tastes (except one course – blue cheese!) and the quality of the dishes was exceptional. $5,000 worth of truffles!? Hello! This is not your average night out.

Araxi’s Bubbles & Oceans in Whistler. Hmmm, I’m starting to see a theme with my 2011 memories…Araxi! Ha! 32 different types of unlimited sparkling wine, vodka fountains, and enough seafood to fill you to your gills – this is Bubbles & Oceans. I’m surprised I can remember anything after all of that unlimited sparkling wine…

Phew! What a year. I need let my belt buckle out after that walk down memory lane. 2011 was a fabulous year but I have my fingers crossed that 2012 will be just as memorable. And with my upcoming trip to Thailand, a possible visit to San Francisco and The French Laundry (pending on whether we can get a reservation), and more local and, possibly international, trips on the cards, it is shaping up to be another good year.

Thank you all for reading and commenting in 2011. I hope this year was a good one for your culinary adventures too!

6 Responses to “2011…where have you gone?”

  1. Rene Koop December 13, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    Wow, you had some amazing culinary adventures in 2011! I love reading your blog and will continue reading it in 2012. I wish you all the best for 2012 and for now: Merry Christmas!

    • greedyguts December 14, 2011 at 10:03 am #

      Thanks Rene! Merry Christmas to you too.

  2. Melissa December 14, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    Wow Amy, what an amazing food year you have had. So many great experiences and you are about to head out on another culinary adventure in Thailand- yum, yum!

    • greedyguts December 14, 2011 at 10:05 am #

      Yes, this year has been a good one. 🙂 I can’t wait for the next adventure! I’ll have to do a post on my Thai cooking class. Merry Christmas to you!

  3. Melissa December 15, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    Perhaps we can share a food adventure in 2012, even if it is just baking some cookies together!

    • greedyguts December 16, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

      We totally should!

Leave a Reply

