One month left of 2011!

30 Nov

With the 1st of December only mere hours away I am almost in the homestretch to complete my 2011 foodie goals. Eeek! Thankfully, there are a few that I can check off but there are others that I feel will be on-going goals well into 2012. Ok, so with one month left, here it goes!

1/ Visit Au Petit Chavignol – FINALLY got to Au Petit Chavignol. When I was doing research for my favourite burger blog post, a stop at Au Petit Chavignol for their highly acclaimed burger was in order. As expected, it was very good (but Refuel still kicks its butt!). Still need to do a few more return visits before an official review.

2/ Revisit Kingyo – Almost immediately after my last update, a friend organized his birthday dinner at Kingyo! It would seem that fate had intervened. Perhaps my expectations were too high, or maybe things at Kingyo had slipped slightly, but it didn’t seem as polished as the other times I had been there. Perhaps Suika has spoiled me?

3/ Find, or make, an incredible laksa. I fear that this goal is going to be one that creeps well into 2012. I did recently visit Café D’Lite on West Broadway and ordered the chicken laksa and it was much better than their vegetable laksa that I had last time (I suppose that shouldn’t be a surprise). The laksa soup was much runnier than I am used to, with my preference being a thicker consistency. The two noodle approach (vermicelli and egg noodle) was an interesting addition. I still need to really put effort into this goal if I’m going to be able to check this off.

4/ Be able to frost a cupcake so that it doesn’t look like a pre-schooler did it. Woot woot!! I think I can say that this goal has been accomplished. My confidence is at an all-time high when it comes to frosting cupcakes so feeling pretty chuffed with myself over this one. Ha!

5/ Spend less money on mediocre weekday lunches and use the money saved for lavish dinners out instead. Errrr, yeah, this one is not really happening. Some weeks I’m really good at bringing my own lunches but other weeks are a complete fail.

6/ Host a really girly afternoon tea. Check!! There was a lot of pink, lots of pretty desserts, plenty of tea sparkling wine, and girl talk. I think that means it was a success.

7/ Host a successful dinner party. Not too late for this one but I’ll have to get on it if I’m going to get this checked off before Christmas.

My remaining food goals for 2011 are:

1/ Find, or make, an incredible laksa.

2/ Spend less money on mediocre weekday lunches and use the money saved for lavish dinners out instead.

3/ Host a successful dinner party.

I’m not holding out much hope for the first two but the last goal should be achievable.

Do you have any goals that you want to achieve before 2012 arrives?

5 Responses to “One month left of 2011!”

  1. Jeanie December 2, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    Have you ever been to Bo’s Laksa on Hastings? Though a dive, but the food is incredible! Try the laksa, nasi goreng and spicy squid salad (if you eat spicy). They also have the BEST roti (including a ‘sweet one’ with condensed milk)!!!

    • greedyguts December 3, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

      Hi Jeanie. Yup, I’ve been once so I’ve only ordered the roti. Sounds like I need to go back to try more of the menu. Everything you’ve recommended sounds delicious! Thanks for the recommendation.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. And the laksa search continues… « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - December 5, 2011

    […] search for an incredible laksa is still underway. As I had anticipated, my search looks like it will be quite the challenge as […]

  2. Saving money and BYO lunches…yawn… « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - August 6, 2012

    […] of my 2011 foodie goals was to spend less money on lunches and save it for dinners out. Well…it’s mid-way through 2012 […]

  3. Photo Visit – Bo Laksa King – February 2013 « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - February 15, 2013

    […] as fast as I would like. Throughout my search I have sampled laksa from Freshbowl, Tropika, Cafe D’Lite, and Banana Leaf. I was still looking for other contenders and the place recommended to me the most […]

Leave a Reply

