Rim Rock Café – November 2011

15 Nov

2117 Whistler Road
Whistler, BC
V0N 1B2

T: 604 932 5565
www.rimrockwhistler.com

Brief Description: An award-winning restaurant with a strong focus on fresh game and seafood, located in Whistler Creekside. An impeccable dining experience that will not be forgotten.

Even though our visit to Whistler this past weekend was full of Cornucopia events, I couldn’t allow an opportunity to return to Rim Rock Café pass me by. I never need convincing to return to Rim Rock but when I found out they were offering a fall special of 3 courses for only $49, I was hooked. Even though we had booked the extravagent Bubbles and Oceans event, we still squeezed in a visit to Rim Rock for an early three course dinner. Sure, in hindsight it seems a tad excessive but I have no regrets. Full stomach or not, I was going to fit them both in!

Every time I return to Rim Rock I feel like I’m going to visit an old friend. The location remains cozy and inviting, complete with a fire crackling in one corner of the chalet-esque dining room. The staff are always outstanding, but not in a suck-up, constantly in your face kind of way, but more with a warm hospitality that feels like you are being served by a good friend.

My first course was a delightful lobster bisque, punctuated with chunks of lobster.

Up next were the seared scallops on a minted pea puree, finished with chanterelles and lemon butter. The scallops were perfectly seared and the minted pea puree was very subtle so it didn’t overwhelm the delicate flavour of the scallops.

For the first time ever at Rim Rock, I did not order the sticky toffee pudding for dessert. I know – hard to believe – but I was saving myself for Bubbles and Oceans. Instead, I finished my three course dinner with the mushroom crusted venison, spätzle, and porcini cream. I find it hard to order anything other than this dish. I suppose it could be time to splash out and order something different…maybe next time.

Final Thoughts: Rim Rock Café is outstanding. Dining at Rim Rock is truly one of my favourite things to do in Whistler. I know that the food standards are consistently high, the service is friendly and professional, and the atmosphere relaxed and welcoming. Go in knowing the price point and the only surprise you will get is how impressive the food is.

Rimrock Cafe and Oyster Bar on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Rim Rock Café – November 2011”

  1. rommy November 15, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    I need to do a food weekend in Whistler. This looks pretty awesome.

    • greedyguts November 15, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

      You do need to go up there! Unfortunately it was pretty dark in Rim Rock so the photos don’t do it justice but the food is worth the trip.

Leave a Reply

