Pecha what?!?

5 Nov

If you are someone who loves food (and if you don’t then you probably have stumbled upon the wrong blog for you!) then you may be interested in an upcoming event in Vancouver called Pecha Kucha. Pecha what?! Yeah, it’s a weird name but that aside it’s also a pretty cool concept.

Pecha Kucha is an event where selected speakers (generally about 14 of them) are given the same topic to provide a presentation on. They are required to use 20 images, each of which are shown for 20 seconds. Do your math and you’ll work out that gives them just under 7 minutes to deliver their whole presentation. In my experience, speakers have either used the images to prompt their talk or they use the images to support their talk. Either way, I find the events to be incredibly inspiring and I always walk away feeling humbled by the speakers presentations and experiences.

The next Pecha Kucha Vancouver night will be held on November 24th and I’m especially excited about this event as the topic is yep, you guessed it, food and drink. I cannot wait to see who is in the line-up (so far the list is unannounced) and what presentations they have up their sleeves. I’d better make sure I eat before this event – I’m not sure I can handle 1.5 hours of food images being flashed before me on an empty stomach.

Info and ticket details can be found here. Tickets are only $15.

2 Responses to “Pecha what?!?”

  1. Diana November 6, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    I saw this too! I might be going seems pretty interesting

    • greedyguts November 6, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

      I bought my tickets already because these nights generally sell out very quickly. I wonder if they’ll have some local business owners present, like Sean Heather maybe?

Leave a Reply

