My favourite burger in Vancouver

1 Nov

1944 West 4th Avenue
Vancouver, BC
V6J 1M5

T: 604 288 7905
www.refuelrestaurant.com

As with most topics these days food has become an emotional subject. Everyone (not just food bloggers) have a place that does their favourite… (insert sandwich, macaron, sushi, pizza, etc, here). It is a heated topic that people will argue about until the cows come home. I am no different. I am very loyal to my favourite dishes – you don’t even want to get me started on my favourite restaurants!

One topic that has caught my eye recently is that of “the best burger”. There have been some pretty big claims being thrown around, what with Andrew Morrison’s claim that Au Petit Chavignol has the “best burger in Vancouver” and Vancouver Foodster’s review of the 10 best burgers in Vancouver. Burger flavours are so subjective that I find it really hard to believe any claims of what is deemed the best burger. What one person likes about a particular burger, might be a complete turn-off for others. That aside the one thing that makes me happy about all this burger reviewing is that at least it is keeping people out of the nasty fast food chains that make “burgers” (and I use that term loosely).

Of course all of this talk is like a red-flag to a bull so I feel as though I have to chime in. My favourite burger in Vancouver is from (drum-roll please)…Refuel.

I’m not going to go into the minute details of what makes this burger so fantastic but here is why I think it is the bomb:

    • The patty is ground in-house from dry aged beef. Beef that is dry aged is done so to create more flavour in the meat and that is very evident in Refuel’s tasty patty.
    • It is not dressed with a bunch of additions to mask the flavour of the patty. Cheddar and bacon are standard, as are tomatoes but only when in season. I usually request a piece of lettuce for the inside of my burger but that is just a personal preference. It isn’t necessary to enjoy this burger.
    • The size of the burger is perfect. At first sight you might think that it is too small but once you start eating you realize that no more is needed. You don’t need to dislocate your jaw in order to take a bite of this burger.
As a tip, make sure you order the burger “as the chef prepares”. It will be slightly pink inside but don’t let this concern you. It is ground fresh so you don’t need to worry about nasty bacteria. By cooking it this way the patty remains moist and it retains its juices (which you will find later dripping down your arm).

Fries come on the side or you can upgrade to poutine for an extra $3.50. The burger will set you back $15.50 but it is absolutely worth it.

So back to my earlier point, burger flavours are subjective. Maybe you won’t like Refuel’s burger, but then again, maybe you will fall in love with it like I have. I’m not going to claim that it is “the best burger in Vancouver” because I’ve not tried all the burgers in Vancouver, but my goodness, if there is somewhere that is doing it better, then I wanna know about it!

If you need further convincing, my friend Rommy posts a good write-up of Refuel’s burger too.

Refuel on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “My favourite burger in Vancouver”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. One month left of 2011! « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - November 30, 2011

    […] Visit Au Petit Chavignol – FINALLY got to Au Petit Chavignol. When I was doing research for my favourite burger blog post, a stop at Au Petit Chavignol for their highly acclaimed burger was in order. As expected, it was […]

  2. Noooooooo!! Refuel closure… « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - March 15, 2012

    […] yet, I haven’t written a proper blog post about them. Yes, I’ve raved about how I think their burger is out of this world but I never got around to shouting their praises from my wee little blog. What an oversight on my […]

Leave a Reply

