“Is this the macaron bandwagon? Move over, I’m coming onboard!”

27 Oct

It’s confession time. Here it goes: I am only a new-comer to the macaron-craze which seems to have taken Vancouver (dare I say, the world) by storm. Yeah…so I’m kinda slow on crazes. You’ll start to realize that soon. I’m what people call a “late-adopter”. Big time.

When I say I’m a new-comer, I mean the only macarons that I’ve tried are the ones from Thierry Patiserrie. Yeah, I know – lame. But Thierry’s have had quite an impact on me. For example, whilst sitting at work the other day, I realized that I just had to get some of Thierry’s macarons. I even walked in the rain for 30 minutes for them. I get kinda crazy like that when I am craving something. I think that they are so pretty (just look at those colours!) that I wanted to share them with you, along with my awesome hand-made infographic…

Pretty cool infographic, right? I can tell you are impressed. Who needs fancy computer programs when you have a marker and some paper? (Just go along with me on this…)

So my impressions are: the raspberry one is, without a doubt, my favourite. When you get to the real fruit filling it tastes like summer. They all shared the same level of creaminess, which I just loved.

The lime was very subtle in flavour, with just a hint of lime.

The blackberry really had very little distinguishing flavour but it was creamy and delicious nonetheless.

So, as I mentioned, I’m new to the macaron scene but I’d love to hear from you. Where is your favourite place to get macarons?

16 Responses to ““Is this the macaron bandwagon? Move over, I’m coming onboard!””

  1. shutupsarabeth October 27, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    definitely the best by far: Laduree. Not only are their flavors amazing, but their colors are, too. http://www.laduree.fr/

    • greedyguts October 27, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

      Thanks for the recommendation. Wow – that is one fancy website! They had me at “caramel with salted butter”…Unfortunately there are no stores in Canada so I’ll have to wait for a trip before I can try these.

  2. Emma October 27, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    So it not just me, I too have noticed the big macaroon craze of 2011. Not sure what all the fuss is about though.

    • greedyguts October 27, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

      Have you tried them, or just seen them around? They are very popular here in Vancouver.

  3. Panda October 27, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    hahaha gotta try it.

  4. Kevin | 604 Foodtography October 28, 2011 at 1:04 am #

    I’m no macaroon crazy person, but they’re good in small dosages for me. Maybe two max. I prefer the lime/lemon types though, more citrusy stuff to balance out the sweetness. Haven’t tried Thierry yet though.

    • greedyguts October 28, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

      That makes sense for sure (cut the sweetness with the citrus). They are a bit sweet but that is A-OK with me 😉

  5. La Petite Vancouver October 30, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    I’m a big fans of macaron. I’ve tried Thierry’s and I’m sorry to say I was disappointed by their macaron. The shell’s size were not consistent and the ones I had were over-baked which ended up giving me chewy texture. The shells are a bit chunky with the almond meal ( they are supposed to be smooth ). When it comes to the filling, I remembered I tried the apricot one. It has an apricot jelly in the center. Unfortunately the apricot jelly didn’t stick with the buttercream surrounding it. I really hope they pay attention to those and I would love to see them improve in the future.

    I’ve tried the real Parisian macaron before and esp the ones by Pierre Herme and Thierry’s macaron are no where near Pierre’s yet.

    • greedyguts October 30, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

      Thanks for your reply! So out of curiosity then, where do you get your macarons locally? Paris is a little far… 🙂

      • La Petite Vancouver October 30, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

        You are welcome. Ganache Patisserie in Yaletown made good ones but theirs limited to 4 flavours and not as big as Thierry. Another good ones in town is at Thomas Haas.

      • greedyguts October 31, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

        Thanks! Thomas Haas is much closer than Paris 😉 and I will definitely drop into Ganache.

  6. Rene Koop November 13, 2011 at 12:37 am #

    La petite, I think macarons should have a chewy centre. Not too much but certenly not dry all the way and (only) crunchy. I agree that the macarons should be smooth and consistent (btw I love the beautiful pictures on your blog) . It is nice to see that they become more popular nowadays.

    Rene

    • La Petite Vancouver November 13, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

      Hi Rene, Yes I agree that macaron has a little chewy texture in the centre. However, if it’s overbaked it will end up being really chewy. Thanks for your nice compliment on my blog, glad you like it.

      • René Koop November 13, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

        You are right, overbaked is definitely not good! I like to make my macarons with a different nut than almonds. So I used walnuts and macadamia nuts a few times (can be found on my blog). It gives a suprising taste and even texture!

  7. French Made Baking November 14, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    Hi Amy, we hope to see you some day at the Bakers’ Market or another market or craft fair we’re doing in Vancouver! We bake macarons in Vancouver just like in our native France and we even have a salted butter caramel with fleur de sel de Noirmoutier in our line-up currently so you don’t have to go all the way to Paris to have these 🙂
    Cheers,
    Catherine & David

    • greedyguts November 14, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

      Hi Catherine and David. Thanks for dropping by! I would definitely love to see you soon – I’ve heard very good things about your macarons! I must admit that I am intrigued by the salted butter caramel option…

Leave a Reply

