Ramen Jinya

8 Sep

270 Robson Street
Vancouver, BC
V6B 6A1

T: 604 568 9711
No website

Brief Description: Ramen Jinya is a new ramen joint (duh!) that has opened at Robson at Cambie Street. They offer eight different types of ramen made from pork, chicken, and vegetarian (yes, you read correctly) broth. Other menu items are limited. Prices are extremely affordable at around $9 a bowl.

My office, located close to BC Place, appears to be situated in a food dead-zone. Most of the good food places in this area are a small hike away so I am pleasantly surprised to find that a new foodie hot-spot is only mere meters from my office. The location is on Robson Street in the old Ezogiku café which, funnily enough, also specialized in ramen although they obviously didn’t do it as well as Ramen Jinya. Only open for just over a month, Ramen Jinya, has been doing a rip-roaring trade if the lunchtime queue is anything to go by.

The decor is modern but not fussy, and seating is limited to about 30 patrons. I have personally been to Ramen Jinya many times now (some might say too many times) and I’m completely addicted to the chicken wonton ramen. Yes, chicken ramen. I don’t know how authentic chicken ramen is but I can attest that it tastes fantastic. I find the chicken broth to be silky in texture and rich in flavour, although it is a little on the salty side (but isn’t all ramen?). The wontons are full of flavour from seasoned minced chicken and should be eaten fairly quickly to avoid them going soggy. An addition of steamed spinach and a sprinkling of spring onions complete the dish.

Besides the chicken broth there is, of course, pork broth as well as a vegetarian broth (I’m pretty sure that’s not authentic). There are about 8 different ramens in total; four of which are pork, three are chicken and one vegetarian. Each bowl comes with a generous serving of egg noodles that are piled high under the broth. For the pork ramen, you can choose from shoyu tonkotsu, spicy tonkotsu, miso tonkotsu, or the shio tonkotsu, which is made with pork belly and they only make 20 bowls of it per day. I personally found it too fatty but almost all of my Asian colleagues love it, so perhaps that means it is authentic?

Final Thoughts: I’m pretty sure that there are ramen purists out there that will have a bone to pick with Ramen Jinya (it’s not authentic enough, too salty, blah blah blah) but for me, as someone who just enjoys a steaming bowl of brothy noodles, I like it. It is cheap (around $9 a bowl) and I like that there are other broth options besides just pork. I can definitely see Ramen Jinya being my lunch choice in the cold, wet days of winter.

8 Responses to “Ramen Jinya”

  1. andy1076 September 8, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    I worked at the library for the longest time, never really got around to going there but looks good! will have to stop by sometime.

  2. Mia September 8, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Can’t wait to try this place! Even though trying veggie ramen makes the whole thing seem pointless anyway…heh. You might want to mention that tonkotsu is pork bone marrow (I’m pretty sure, could be wrong); which may be why it feels so fatty and filling. Just wait until you to try it IN JAPAN! 😛 Also, how does this one stack up against the other ramen places in town flavour-wise? There are definitely a lot now…

    • greedyguts September 8, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

      I couldn’t say how it stacks up against the others because I don’t feel I’ve tried all that many. I like the chicken but that’s just a personal thing. I’ve heard people rave about the ramen at Suika but I personally found it too salty and too savoury. I still really like Kintaro.

  3. kickpleat September 13, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    Good to know! I used to love the old Ezogiku but then about 5 yrs ago they really started to go downhill. I used to crave their bowls so I’m thrilled there is a new delicious replacement! Hooray.

    • greedyguts September 13, 2011 at 10:46 am #

      Thanks for your comment. I went to Ezogiku a number of times but Ramen Jinya is definitely an improvement. Hope you get to try it.

  4. Angie September 13, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Yes, Ezogiku really went downhill at the end. Love how there are so may good ramen places popping up now. I usually hit up Benkei Ramen as it’s close to my office, but I’ll make the trek down to Jinya one day. Thanks for the review!

  5. Angie July 11, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    GG – my coworkers and I have been on a months long sojourn of many ramen restaurants. Jinya is the last place on the list! Do think it’s worthy of going to as one of the best ramen places in town? Right now we have the best being either Santouka or Motomachi. But I know you enjoyed Jinya so I have been adamant we try it. Thoughts? 🙂

    • greedyguts July 11, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

      Hey Angie. Although I don’t feel qualified to rate the cities ramens, I don’t think that it would be one of the best. I really like it because they offer the chicken ramen, and that’s pretty much what keeps me going back. Don’t get me wrong, I like it there but “the best”…maybe not so much. I’m going to have to try those other places you speak of.

Leave a Reply

