Taking a moment to appreciate food

27 Jul

Let me get serious here for just a few minutes. I promise – just for a minute or two.

Safe in our first world countries, who hasn’t uttered the exaggerated words “I’m starving!” or “I’m sooo hungry”? Generally speaking, I think we’ve all probably said this at one time or another. I know I have. But have you ever really thought about what exactly that would be like? To starve? When have you ever actually been literally starving? Chances are never. We are the lucky ones.

Due to severe drought, an estimated ten million people in Somalia (and some surrounding countries) are actually starving to death this very second. Let that sink in for a minute. Ten million people. That is the equivalent of almost one third of Canadians. And here I am complaining about being too full from eating the seventeen course dinner at Chambar the other night (yeah, feeling pretty shitty about that right now).

Too often I take for granted the fact that not only can I afford to buy food but that it is available to me 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. And that food is generally healthy, safe, and relatively affordable. In my lifetime I have (thankfully) not had to worry about food shortages or even worry about where my next meal is coming from. I am part of a small percentage of the world’s population that is fortunate enough to claim this. If you are reading this blog then chances are that you too are one of those fortunate people.

You certainly didn’t come to my blog for a downer piece of news like this and I’m not here to lecture but purely to bring awareness. If you can help, please donate some of your hard-earned money to a reputable charity to help these people in their time of need. I’m sure they will appreciate it.

You can find a list of reputable charities here. Thank you.

2 Responses to “Taking a moment to appreciate food”

  1. VancityAllie July 28, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    Great point, Amy!

  2. Di July 29, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    You are so right and make me proud

Leave a Reply

