La Ghianda

8 Jun

2083 Alma Street
Vancouver, Point Grey
V6R 4N6

T: 604 566 9559
www.laghianda.ca

Brief Description: This modest deli provides hearty, simple Italian fare at affordable prices. Dine-in and take-out options available. Limited seating. Only open from 11am to 6pm.

There really is truth in that old saying “Less is more”. Fear always sets in when I sit down at a restaurant and I’m handed a menu that has more pages than a telephone book. If the menu is long then I have serious doubts that the food is going to be exceptional. For me, I have more confidence in a place that has a smaller menu as that generally indicates (fingers crossed) that they are going to excel at doing those items. So when I walked into La Ghianda and saw their limited menu scribbled on a chalkboard, I breathed a sigh of relief.

La Ghianda is situated kitty corner from its big sis (and one of my local favourites), La Quercia, on the corner of Alma and West 4th. Owners, Adam Pegg and Lucais Syme, chose not to replicate their popular La Quercia restaurant but instead to compliment it with the addition of a more casual dining experience and, hence, La Ghianda was born. La Ghianda is a modest Italian deli that offers simple food that is done well and, from my experience, they do it very well.

Their menu changes daily and is divided in to three sections; primi (starters), secondi (mains) and panini, and each section has three options. Options include unpretentious Italian cuisine, such as house-made pasta, meat dishes, and assorted panini, all for only $10 a plate (see update). You can supplement your meal by adding a salad or side, which also change daily.

As a deli, they also sell cheese, olive oils, breads, pastries, and cured meats, in addition to their pre-cooked “heat and serve” meals, such as pasta sauces, osso buco or duck confit. The house-made ciabatta, with its slightly crunchy exterior but soft spongy center, is absolutely incredible and worth a visit for that alone.

The décor of the small deli keeps with the theme and remains unpretentious and rustic. Seating is extremely limited and La Ghianda is busy, so chances are that you will have to take-out but if you are able to nab yourself a much sought after spot, then settle in and make a meal out of it. The coffee, albeit small, was robust and definitely one of the better coffees that I’ve had in Vancouver and the pastries are very tempting indeed.

Final Thoughts: La Ghianda really left a good impression on me. It proved that you don’t have to spend a lot in order to eat good quality food. If you aren’t a local of the area, the location is a little out of the way but the effort to get there is justified.

La Ghianda on Urbanspoon

5 Responses to “La Ghianda”

  1. foodieonthe49th December 12, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    I had takeout from there for lunch one day. It was my first time trying it, as it was a relatively new place back then. I had some kind of fish roe pasta, and I was pretty disappointed with the portion size. In the Chinese takeout style box, it wasn’t even half full. Aside from the little speckles of salmon roe, there was nothing else on the pasta, yet it was probably about $10. Though my order did come with a crust of bread. The pasta wasn’t bad, but I haven’t been back since.

    • greedyguts December 13, 2011 at 10:28 am #

      That’s a shame. I have always found the serving sizes for dining-in absolutely huge. Perhaps they have changed their sizes since you last went?

      • foodieonthe49th December 13, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

        Possibly. I definitely wasn’t full that time. Although my colleague at work will get one sandwich from there and have it for two meals.

      • greedyguts December 14, 2011 at 10:03 am #

        The sandwiches are HUGE! Your colleague is smart – I tried to eat a whole sandwich by myself and I felt ill all day – oops! Now I share the sandwiches…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. La Ghianda « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - June 13, 2011

    […] writing my blog post about La Ghianda last week, I got myself so excited about the food that I knew an immediate […]

Leave a Reply

