Brunch at Twisted Fork Bistro

30 May

1147 Granville Street
Vancouver, BC
V6Z 1M1

T: 604 568 0749
www.twistedforkbistro.ca

Brief Description: A Granville Street-based bistro where the prices are affordable, the atmosphere is cozy, and the food is filling.

Since the closure of my favourite brunch hangout, DB Bistro, I have been on a hunt to find a replacement that will scratch my itch for a really good brunch. I’m still waiting to find somewhere that rocks my brunch world as much as DB did (perhaps the new ensemble will fill the void?) but in the meantime, I have been casting my net further in an effort to find my new go-to brunch place.

Twisted Fork Bistro is somewhere that I have now been for brunch enough times that I feel comfortable providing a review. Please note that I have not been for dinner so I won’t be commenting on their dinner service. For brunch, however, I like it. I don’t love it, but I like it. It’s not without its flaws (I have found some of the food overly salty whilst others – the roti, for example – aren’t executed that well) but if you can move past the flaws, you will find generous servings of satisfying food for the bargain price of only $12 a plate.

The décor is unpolished and decorated in a simple manner but it does have a comfortable, lived-in feel. Weekend brunch is extremely busy and they do not accept reservations, so either get there just before opening time (10am) or expect to wait. If you are willing to sit at the bar (be prepared to be bumped and knocked – like I said, it’s busy) you will get a seat a lot faster.

The menu is limited and the food is simple and served without fuss, but I have mostly liked what I’ve eaten. As previously mentioned, the last time I was there I did find the eggs and the roti to be quite salty but it was the first time I’d noticed it so I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt on this one. Dishes that I personally enjoy are the asparagus scrambled eggs served with toasted sourdough and house made jam, roasted roma tomatoes, rösti and sautéed spinach, and the Gruyere baked eggs with sourdough toast, bacon, rösti and baked beans.

Other dishes that have caught my eye but I’ve not yet tried are the banana stuffed brioche French toast, and the bacon, caramelized onion and brie frittata. If traditional breakfast is more your style then you can choose from croque monsieur, eggs benny, or a fresh fruit salad plate with asiago scones.

One of the other things I like at Twisted Fork is that they serve coffee in a French press – something I’ve not seen a lot of but something that I enjoy.

Final Thoughts: Even though Twisted Fork is a little rough around the edges, there is something about it that I still like. I’m not going to tell you that it is the best breakfast that I’ve had, because it is quite easily not, but the food is hearty and honest. And sometimes that is all you need.

Twisted Fork Bistro on Urbanspoon

10 Responses to “Brunch at Twisted Fork Bistro”

  1. rommy May 30, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    I’ll need to come here. The best I’ve had here is still Medina, but I expect to find better.

    • greedyguts May 30, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

      I’d say Medina is better but you should try it out for yourself. Maybe you’ll think otherwise.

  2. Feeding Time May 30, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    Oh No! DB Bistro closed? I am coming back to Van in a couple of months, maybe I will have to try this place instead.

    • greedyguts May 30, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

      Yes, unfortunately it closed a few months ago. The chef from DB has opened up “ensemble”, which starts their brunch service in a few weeks. I will review and let you know if it is as good as DB.

  3. VancityAllie May 31, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    Medina is way better and DB Bistro was superior in every way before.

    I’m being super harsh here… but while the coffee press and the scones/banana bread is absolutely delicious… I really don’t like ANY of the breakfast entrees here.

    In particular the stuffed french toast is atrocious and doesn’t compare at all to the stuffed french toast at Elements in Whistler. It is SO dry and the portions are huge.

    Whenever I’ve gone with friends they all thought that the breakfast entrees were really disappointing. Either too cold, not enough, too much, or just not enough flavour.

    On top of it, the crazy lines, just make it not a great experience.

    If I had to go again, I think I’d only order the coffee and the scones. That they do fantastically well.

    • greedyguts May 31, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

      Hey Allie,

      I haven’t tried the french toast so I can’t comment on that – but it’s hard to compare any to Elements! Elements does a good job (however, I’ve been a little disappointed with it the last few times I’ve been back). I’ve taken two different people to Twisted Fork and they too have left satisfied, but as per my review, obviously not as impressed as a visit to DB (sob sob) or Medina. Shame you had such a bad experience. How many times have you been?

  4. VancityAllie June 2, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    I’ve been twice now…

    I think I’m just being so harsh because I miss brunch at DB so much 😉

    Looking forward to trying Ensemble with you guys!

    • greedyguts June 2, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

      I miss DB too! 😦

      Hope I don’t get my hopes to high about Ensemble.

  5. Angie June 3, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    I miss DB too…although Dale Mackay was the chef at Lumiere and has now opened Ensemble. Nathan Guggenheim was the last chef at DB – not sure where he ended up. I am looking forward to Ensemble but am hitting Hawksworth first next week as it’s higher on the list!

    Do you ever go to Trafalgars for brunch? I really enjoy their brunches. They have a nice patio too.

    • greedyguts June 5, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

      Hey Angie. I’ll be waiting to see what you think about Hawksworth – haven’t been yet as we’ve been out of town but am looking forward to trying that and Ensemble.

      Funnily enough, we haven’t been to Trafalgars yet. Might hit in summer as it is a quick bike ride away. Thanks for the tip.

Leave a Reply

