Cranberry, Orange, and White Chocolate Scones

29 Mar

I did something tonight that I’m not so sure was a good idea. In fact, I’m going to go as far as to say that it was stupid. And reckless. Especially for my waistline. See, I’m not sure if you remember but I’ve kinda had a thing going with Crème de la Crumb’s cranberry, orange and white chocolate scones. It’s been going on for a few months now…we see each other at least once week, sometimes more if things get desperate. Yes, guilt has washed over me many times after our rendezvous but I can’t control myself. I keep going back for more.

Well, tonight, lust (or stupidity) got the better of me and I attempted to bake them myself. Yes…I invited the temptress into my own home. What was I thinking?! I had kinda hoped the recipe wouldn’t turn out and I’d be all like, “Whatever scones. I don’t need you!” but the plan back-fired and now I’ve devoured two. Doh! The rest are going in to work tomorrow…yes…most definitely…to work.

I got the recipe for Cranberry Orange Scones from one of my favourite blogs, Brown Eyed Baker. I love, love, love her site. I’m sure that the regular recipe is just as yummy without the white chocolate, but I need the white chocolate! So I altered the recipe by adding 100grams of chopped white chocolate into the mixture. A girl’s gotta have her chocolate. All up these took just over half an hour to make and bake, so if you have friends coming around for a coffee or if you want some fresh scones for breakfast, this is a recipe that you can easily scrape together.

Cranberry, Orange and White Chocolate Scones – Makes 8 scones

1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons orange zest
1 1/2 cups + 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
Pinch of salt
3/4 cup of dried cranberries
100 grams of chopped, good quality white chocolate
1 cup of heavy cream
1 tablespoon of unsalted butter, melted
Granulated sugar, for sprinkling

Method:
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat.

Place the granulated sugar in a large bowl. Add the orange zest, and using your fingers, rub the orange zest and the granulated sugar together until the sugar is uniformly moistened with the orange zest. Add the flour, baking powder and salt and whisk together. Stir in the cranberries and chocolate.

Pour in the cream and, using your fingers or a fork, stir together until combined. Dump mixture onto a lightly floured surface and lightly knead to bring dough together. Pat dough into an 8-inch circle.

Cut into 8 triangles and place on baking sheet. Brush the tops of the scones with the melted butter and sprinkle with the granulated sugar. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until the scones are just turning lightly browned. Transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely. Store at room temperature.

Recipe from Brown Eyed Baker.

3 Responses to “Cranberry, Orange, and White Chocolate Scones”

  1. rsmacaalay March 29, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    Wow that looks yummy, excellent recipe and photos look great as well

    • greedyguts March 30, 2011 at 9:51 am #

      Thank you! They are delicious and so easy to make.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cranberry, Orange and White Chocolate Scones | BBQ Is Love - March 30, 2011

    […] The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts No TweetBacks yet. (Be the first to Tweet this post) This entry was posted in BBQ Info, BBQ Stuff […]

Leave a Reply

