Perfect Peppermint Patties

26 Mar

I can always remember having a thing for peppermint and chocolate. As a kid I would happily devour Nestle Mint Patties, a snack-size treat made up of a light, fluffy mint-flavoured filling, covered in a thin layer of dark chocolate. Every last cent of my pocket-money went towards treats like Mint Patties. Yes, even back then all of my money went towards filling my stomach (a problem I still have today).

If  I wasn’t eating those, I was eating Arnott’s Mint Slices. These are basically a mint pattie with a base of crunchy, chocolate biscuit (cookie to the North Americans). Most people go crazy for Tim Tam’s but I always wanted the Mint Slices!

As I got older and further away from home, I turned to Nestle’s After Eight, which are disappointingly thin but seem to do the trick in a desperate mint-craving situation.

Even with all of the memories of those minty treats lingering in my head, my favourite mint treat of all time would have to be from the UK-based chocolate store, Thornton’s. They make Double Cream Mints which are simply heavenly. These mints became a much-needed friend when the cold, dreary UK winter hit. They are a fat, puffy mint which, in my mind, is even more satisfying. But the best part is the creamy fondant filling…*bites knuckle*

Here in Canada, I haven’t been able to find anything in the stores that comes close to the satisfaction that I get with my old minty friends. What to do…? Duh! Make it yourself! And so I did. I have been making these for about 6 months or so and, although they are a bit of work, they taste far superior to anything you can buy in the stores, they keep for quite a while, and if you bag them up nicely they make great gifts. I gave out a few bags of these around Christmas and got lots of positive feedback about them…including a marriage proposal from a really big mint fan. I declined.

The biggest tip that I can offer when making these is to use the best quality ingredients that you can afford. This is especially important when it comes to the chocolate and the peppermint extract. The more refined the extract is, the cheaper your mints will taste. I use “Simply Organic Peppermint Flavour” which I bought at Whole Food’s and I find it has a great, unsweetened flavour. The same goes for the chocolate – do not scrimp on the chocolate or you might as well just buy store bought mints as they just won’t taste as good.

I hope you enjoy these minty bad-boys. I know I do! This recipe is from the very lovely www.savourysweetlife.com.

SavourySweetLife’s Peppermint Patties – Makes about 32 patties

1 300ml can of condensed milk
5 1/2 cups icing sugar, sifted
1 tablespoon of good quality peppermint extract
3 cups semisweet chocolate chips
3 tablespoons of shortening

Method:
Add condensed milk, 2 cups of icing sugar, and peppermint extract to a large mixing bowl. Mix everything on medium speed using the paddle attachment until all the ingredients are well incorporated.

Add more icing sugar, a half cup at a time, until the dough is pliable like firm modeling clay.

Roll 3/4″ balls of dough between the palms of the hands.

Press each ball down slowly and set the flattened disk on a flat tray covered in parchment paper. Transfer peppermint disks to the freezer for no longer than 30 minutes. While the dough is chilling, temper the chocolate coating.

You can either melt the chocolate in the microwave in 30 second increments, making sure to stir after each time until the chocolate is smooth. Alternatively, you can melt it over a chocolate bath. Once the chocolate has melted, stir in shortening to thin the chocolate. Remove the patties from the freezer.

Place a patty on the tongs of the fork and dip the chocolate until completely covered. Allow excess chocolate to drip off the patty before setting each one on top of wax or parchment paper.

Allow the chocolate coated peppermint patties to completely set. This can be done quicker by placing the patties in the refrigerator. The peppermint patties are ready when they are dry to the touch.

I found this recipe at www.savourysweetlife.com. Alice has a helpful step-by-step photo guide to follow and her photos are absolutely beautiful. I put this right at the end so you would have to see my bad photos first before you saw hers. 🙂

7 Responses to “Perfect Peppermint Patties”

  1. 44Lalley March 27, 2011 at 6:12 am #

    Wow! These look so so good – impressed with how evenly you coated them in the chocolate.

    • greedyguts March 27, 2011 at 9:03 am #

      Thanks! I have absolutely no patience for coating them though…it takes so long to drain off the chocolate that I usually just rush through it! 🙂

  2. Kate Barnes March 27, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    These look fabulous. I am a Mint Pattie and Mint Slice addict as well, so having this recipe on hand will be useful. Went to the corner shop recently as I had a Mint Pattie craving, but there were none there…..at the corner shop? Can you believe it? Every corner shop in Australia has Mint Patties don’t they! I was inconsolable!

    • greedyguts March 28, 2011 at 10:32 am #

      That’s unheard of! They are still making them though, right? When I’m there in May, my first stop is for lollies and snacks! Whoo hoo!!

  3. VancityAllie March 27, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    Mmmmm… looks SO jealous! I kinda wish I hadn’t read this so close to bed… craving chocolate! 😉

    Thanks for the recipe, sounds amazing.

  4. Caterina Wroth May 13, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    Just made these for my bro in law, a major choc mint junkie… I think he will be pleasantly suprised! I love these too… but they are not for the faint hearted as they are super sweet.. might make them smaller next time like junior mints! Thanks for the recipe! 🙂

    • greedyguts May 15, 2011 at 3:22 am #

      I’m glad you made them. They are a bit sweet so if they are too big they are too much. Let me know how he liked them.

Leave a Reply

