I heart you, Araxi!

18 Feb

4222 Village Gate Square
Whistler, BC
V0N 1B4

T: 604 932 4540
www.araxi.com

Brief Description: One of Whistler’s most popular restaurants. Araxi is a formal restaurant that prides itself on offering good, local food. Prices are in the mid to high range but well worth the price.

I am not going to torture you with a wordy review of Araxi because, if you are anything like me, you are just gonna skip to the pictures anyway! So the short and sweet version is that, once again, I was thoroughly impressed by Araxi. My recent visit, and my first visit back in August, stand out as some of the best meals that I’ve had over the last year.

I’ll pass on some advice that a friend gave me: if you stick to the proteins (the lamb, the venison, the beef, and the seafood mains), you will not be disappointed. I tried both, the lamb and the venison, and they were incredible (the lamb more so). If you order something from the raw bar, chances are that you aren’t going to find too much difference between their $11.50 Spicy Tuna Roll and one that you can get at your favourite sushi place for $5. I’m just saying!

For me, the highlights of the menu include the fresh oysters, the Herb-Crusted Lamb Rack, and the venison. The Seafood Towers also seem to be extremely popular, evident by the fact that a lot of tables ordered them the night we were there. Make sure you check the menu before you go as it does change with the seasons.

Almost half of our table, myself included, ordered the Wild and Cultivated Mushroom Risotto and everyone loved it. My only complaint (which seems to be in direct conflict with everyone else) was that there were too many hazelnuts in it. It seems that I was the odd one out on that thought!

After my recent trip to West, I had to order Araxi’s Truffle Fries to do a comparison but there really was no competition. West wins this round easily. Araxi’s fries are missing the truffle mayo and the earthiness of the truffle was too subtle.

When ordering your appetizer, take my advice and avoid ordering salad. Just order the Canada Prime Beef Carpaccio and you’ll be happy. I am still disappointed in myself for ordering the Baby Gem and Romaine Lettuce Salad over the Carpaccio. Never again!

Here are some more images to keep you wanting more!

Final Thoughts: Keeping with my “short and sweet” version, loved it! Will go again. Can’t get enough!

Photos courtesy of VanPubs.

Araxi on Urbanspoon

10 Responses to “I heart you, Araxi!”

  1. VancityAllie February 21, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    Definitely one of my favourite restaurants of all time. Always impeccable!

    • greedyguts February 21, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

      You were the friend I was referring to in my post! 🙂

  2. VancityAllie February 21, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    Haha really? COOL!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Revisiting my 2011 Foodie Goals « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - April 17, 2011

    […] 3/ Araxi We visited Araxi when we were up in Whistler in February. I am still in love with Araxi! […]

  2. Araxi Long Table Dinner – August 27th « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - August 31, 2011

    […] was one of those memorable events!We started with a few cheeky drinks on the sunny patio at Araxi. This is a “Frozen Vine”, which is a mix of icewine, vodka, sparkling wine. […]

  3. 2011 Foodie Goals – 3 months left! « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - October 2, 2011

    […] Araxi – We visited Araxi when we were up in Whistler in February. I am still in love with Araxi! We also returned in August for drinks, as well as attending the Araxi Long Table Dinner. We love it […]

  4. Cornucopia – Bubbles and Oceans « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - November 13, 2011

    […] though we decided to spend more money on less events, we had an amazing time at those two events. Araxi truly out-did themselves on quality. “Big Guns” was an epic culinary experience that […]

  5. Blue Water Cafe – Photo Visit – June 2012 « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - June 6, 2012

    […] this was our first visit to Blue Water. We have frequented her sister restaurants, West and Araxi, many times but never quite made it to Blue Water. We have always had amazing experiences at West […]

  6. My Whistler Favourites « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - June 14, 2012

    […] Located in the heart of The Village, Araxi prides itself on offering local, seasonal food and is arguably one of Whistler’s most popular […]

  7. Photo Visit – CinCin – July 2012 « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - July 20, 2012

    […] Group umbrella, which is also responsible for some of my favourite local eating establishments (Araxi, West, Thierry, and Blue Water Cafe). I have been to CinCin a handful of times but I always seem to […]

Leave a Reply

