Dine Out 2011 – West

28 Jan

2881 Granville Street
Vancouver, BC
V6H 3J4

T: 604 738 8938
www.westrestaurant.com

Brief Description: One of the gems of the Vancouver restaurant crown. West is where local West Coast ingredients meet fine dining. Prices are high but for the service and the quality, it is not unjustified.

Last night I had the pleasure of going to West for Dine Out Vancouver with B. This morning, as I think back to the evening, I am left thinking about two things:

1/ How incredibly romantic the night was, and

2/ How friggin’ awesome those truffled fries are!

Before you even start reading this post, you should know that West still has a few reservations open for Dine Out so if you are considering going, you should probably stop reading, and go and make a reservation immediately. Long story, short: the 3 course menu is only $38 and worth every penny.

We had a late reservation of 9.30pm so we settled at the bar for a drink whilst we waited for our table. Let me tell you, the bar is impressive. It is not only well-stocked but the bartender was knowledgeable and friendly. I couldn’t get enough of the blood-orange and pomegranate cocktails (comes complete with blood-orange marmalade), which were reasonably priced at $11. B was happy quaffing his Pyrat rum.

We moved to our table in the elegant dining room, where we munched on complimentary bread, butter and an earthy olive oil, until our meal was served.

I started with the Winter Minestrone (winter vegetables, rice bean and basil pesto), whilst B opted for the Squid Tempura (served with quinoa, heirloom radishes, puffed rice and salsa verde). My minestrone was good but besides that, it was fairly nondescript. I do feel as though I have to comment on B’s starter. The presentation of the squid completely threw me! The tempura batter was coloured with squid ink so it was dark. I couldn’t help think that it looked like…well, take a look and tell me what you think it looks like.

…yeah…So the presentation wasn’t very appetizing but its saving grace was that it had a fantastic flavour. It wasn’t at all oily and the squid still had texture. If neither of these takes your fancy, there is a third option of Pate de Campagne.

For the main course, I had the Slow Cooked Angus Beef Short Rib whilst B had the Klippers Farm Squash Cannelloni. Considering that this was Dine Out, I thought that serving would be quite small but, nope, I was wrong. I got two big pieces of beef, drizzled with a cognac and peppercorn jus. The meat was extremely tender and the texture was quite unusual for beef – very smooth and not at all fibrous.

B’s cannelloni was finished with mushrooms, truffle emulsion and flakes of parmesan. The parmesan and the mushrooms helped balance the sweetness of the squash. I tried one of the scallops and am disappointed to say that it didn’t even come close to the flavour of the scallops that I had at Cioppino’s in December. The Lois Lake Steelhead Trout is another main course option, if you don’t want beef or pasta.

Even with all of this good food, the highlight of the meal wasn’t actually part of the Dine Out menu. For me, the best part of the meal was the Truffled Fries, a side dish from the regular menu. Oh. My. God. Talk about heavenly. The fries were golden, slightly crunchy and fragranced with truffle oil. You then dipped these already perfect fries into a smooth black truffle aioli. My taste-buds will be forever thankful. At $9, they are pretty pricey for fries. But, come on, these were so good that angels would cry.

For dessert we both ordered the same thing; Chocolate Cream Cheese Custard (with a base of pecan crumble and topped with raspberry sorbet, and a chocolate cream filled profiterole). Whilst the raspberry sorbet packed a powerful punch of robust raspberries, the chocolate cream cheese custard was delicate and fluffy. Yum! If chocolate isn’t your thing (say what now??), there is a Coconut Tart or an Apple Spice Cake.

Final Thoughts: For $38 (+ drinks) the Dine Out menu represents extremely good value for money. To be completely honest, West still hasn’t impressed me enough to become a favourite of mine yet – it’s a little too posh for me – however, last night they did not put a foot wrong. Service was impeccable, the food was impressive, and most importantly, we had an incredibly romantic evening. If you are looking to give West a trial-run but don’t want to spend a small fortune, try and nab one of those last reservations for Dine Out. And splurge on the $9 Truffled Fries. You won’t regret it.

West Restaurant on Urbanspoon

8 Responses to “Dine Out 2011 – West”

  1. Angie January 28, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    Ooh, thanks for the wonderful preview. I am going next Saturday and will definitely get the fries!

    • greedyguts January 28, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

      They are so good! I am going to go back next week just for the fries and cocktails!! 😀

  2. Gloria January 31, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    I just went there on Saturday.
    I had the short ribs as well except I got 3 large pieces & the cannelloni didn’t have (add on?)
    Had the fries as well, they were amazing although mine were only a light brown (found it a bit soggy), rather than a darker brown as yours was.
    Although it was good value, I am quite disappointed with their consistency.

    • greedyguts February 1, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

      Thanks for reading, Gloria. That’s a shame that you were disappointed, especially with the fries. Ours were definitely not soggy at all. What were the short ribs like? How did you find the dessert? Were you an earlier seating? We were there quite late so I think we missed the kitchen rush so maybe they were able to spend more time on ours?

  3. Melissa February 1, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Wow, the tempura is quite something. Surprised they serve it looking like that. Glad you were able to look past it.

    • greedyguts February 1, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

      Yes, it was…errr…different.Thankfully it was B’s dish – not mine. 😀

  4. VancityAllie February 9, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    Mmmm I love West! I don’t like their dine out menu/flavours though… so I try to avoid going during dineout… I really do think the food quality suffers.

    You are right though, the drinks are AMAZING! 🙂

    Hopefully you get a chance to go back at lunch or dinner when it is non-dineout 🙂

    Great review!

    • greedyguts February 9, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

      Thanks Allie. I couldn’t agree with you more about DOV food quality. I will definitely be returning, especially for the truffled fries. I tried them at Araxi last week and they were no-where near the quality of West.

Leave a Reply

