Kale Chips

16 Jan

This is such an easy recipe that I feel like a bit of a cheat even telling you about it. It’s so easy that it hardly even needs an explanation so I wasn’t going to bother posting it at all. But then I thought, who doesn’t need a little help making veggies taste good in order to eat more of them? And these taste so good it hardly seems fair to keep them to myself.

DSC_0015

I love veggies, but kale? Kale and I weren’t exactly friends until I started making kale chips. Heck, we were hardly even acquaintances. But now we see each other weekly and I even look forward to our catch-ups. And so, without further ado, I introduce you to kale chips, also known as the easiest snack ever.

Kale Chips

1 bunch of organic kale, washed
A few tablespoons of olive oil
A sprinkle of salt flakes and ground black pepper

Method:
Pre-heat oven to 350 F (180C). Roughly chop the washed kale into thick strips.

On a baking tray, place half of the chopped kale in a pile and drizzle with some olive oil and a good sprinkling of salt and pepper. Evenly spread the kale on the baking tray (making sure that the pieces don’t overlap) and bake in the oven for 15 to 20 minutes.

Remove from oven and repeat with the other half of the kale.

DSC_0017-001

I told ya it was easy.

3 Responses to “Kale Chips”

  1. vancouverbites January 16, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    Oh my God, thank you, thank you, thank you for posting this! Now I’m embarrassed to say I tossed a half bunch of perfectly good kale yesterday because I bought a bunch for a recipe and I never know what to do with the leftover kale that I don’t use because, as you said, we’re barely acquaintances!

    • greedyguts January 16, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

      Glad to help. That is actually what happened to me – I had some that I was going to throw out but thought I’d try and roast it. Ta-da – kale chips! Hope you enjoy them.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Healthy foods in disguise! | The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - March 21, 2013

    […] with you as I find them. With these changes, and all of the bean dishes, and mushroom pâté, and kale chips that I’ve been making, I feel like I’ve come a long way in just a few months. I’m […]

Leave a Reply

