Homemade Peanut Butter Cups

2 Jan

My sister has a weak spot for Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. Actually, she loves anything that combines peanut butter with chocolate. So when I found a recipe for homemade peanut butter cups on my daily trip around the blogosphere, I quickly saved it to my favourites and vowed that, when the craziness of Christmas subsided, I would make them for her. It’s the least I can do. My sister is always my biggest supporter; she reads my blog and gives me feedback, tries out new foodie spots and gives me her critique, and she puts up with me talking about food, food and more food.

What I didn’t count on was that the peanut butter cups would taste so good that I wouldn’t want to share them. The appeal of Reese’s is lost on me (too sweet and processed for me) but by making my own from real ingredients (i.e. organic semisweet chocolate, organic graham crackers, organic chemical-free peanut butter) that fake sweetness disappeared. As did the peanut butter cups. (Don’t worry, my sis did end up getting a bag of them!)

My only feedback from the original recipe, which I found on the blog “Mango on an Apple”, was that I found it easier to avoid the step of pre-rolling the mixture into balls. It was much easier to wait until the chocolate base had set, roll them as needed, and then drop them into the mould. By doing it this way, I could size them up correctly.

I went ahead and made these without a peanut butter cup chocolate mould and just used a mini cupcake tray, filled with liners, instead. I will, however, be trying to find a mould as I think these will be very popular and the cupcake tray just won’t cut it. If you’d rather make this recipe in a pan, you can. “Mango on an Apple” has adapted the recipe to allow you to do so.

Peanut Butter Cups – Makes 48 cups

1/2 cup of graham cracker crumbs
1 and 1/4 cups icing sugar
1 cup creamy peanut butter
1/2 teaspoon of vanilla
1/4 cup of melted butter
1 pound (454 grams) of semisweet chocolate chips

Method:
Mix all of the ingredients, except for the chocolate chips, together in a bowl, and let chill in the fridge for about 15 minutes or until the mixture gets firmer.

Remove the mixture from the fridge and roll into small balls about the size of table grapes, and press down slightly so they are about the size of a quarter, just thicker. Alternatively, you can skip this step and roll them once the chocolate base has set (the next step).

Fill your mould with a thin layer of chocolate and tap the sides to get the chocolate to spread evenly. Put the mould into the fridge to set for a few minutes.

Once removed from the fridge, put a flattened peanut butter ball in the middle of each chocolate cup, and drizzle melted chocolate on top, again tapping to ensure everything flattens out.

Return to the fridge to set, about 15-20 minutes, before inverting the mould onto a clean work surface and extracting the cups one by one.

6 Responses to “Homemade Peanut Butter Cups”

  1. mango January 2, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    thanks for the link back, and i’m glad the recipe worked out for you! it actually looks much easier to make them in the paper cups – less molding/unmolding to do and faster to eat!

    • greedyguts January 3, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

      You are welcome. Thanks for the recipe – they are soooo good!

  2. Jennifer January 3, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    I don’t think it gets any yummier than homemade peanut butter cups. YUM!!

  3. Melissa January 3, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    They look too good. I have been known to eat dark chocolate with a little peanut butter on top!

  4. munchkie January 5, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    Great recipe! I think I’m going to try it out too… I also, like your sister have a great love for the peanut butter and chocolate combo. There’s nothing like it… I also wrote a little ode to peanut butter on my own blog. Check it out: http://munchkie.wordpress.com/2010/08/07/pb-brad/

    • greedyguts January 6, 2011 at 10:56 am #

      Thanks for your comment and for the link. I’ll check it out.

Leave a Reply

