Welcome 2011…I think…

1 Jan

Happy New Year! Whether we like it or not, 2011 is upon us. Personally, I am a little hesitant to jump into 2011 as 2010 was an unbelievable year for me but as I have no choice, here we go!

Given the time of year, it is normal to reflect on the past and to give some thought to the things that we’d like to achieve this year. I am no different, and whilst I don’t make resolutions per se, I do have goals for 2011. For the purpose of this post, I will just stick to my foodie goals.

In 2010 I made a list of restaurants that I wanted to visit and, whilst I knocked almost all of them off, there are still some residuals that I just haven’t managed to get to. My new (refined) list stands as this:

Restaurants to visit in 2011:

1/ Bao Bei

2/ Bo Laksa King

3/ Au Petit Chavignol (still haven’t managed to get there)

4/ Chambar (ditto)

5/ L’Abattoir

6/ Nicli Antica Pizzeria (when it finally opens)

Anticipated return visits:

1/ Vij’s

2/ Kingyo

3/ Araxi

4/ Cioppino’s

5/ Bishop’s

6/ La Quercia

7/ The Hanuman (my favourite restaurant in Darwin that I hope to visit when we are there in May)

Other foodie goals:

* To utilise more recipes from my cookbook collection, especially from my new Jamie Oliver cookbooks that I got for Christmas (“Jamie’s Italy” and “Jamie at Home”).

* Participate in a cooking class.

* Find, or make, an incredible laksa.

* Be able to frost a cupcake so that it doesn’t look like a pre-schooler did it.

* Spend less money on mediocre weekday lunches and use the money saved for lavish dinners out instead.

* Sit on a Darwin beach with B, at sunset, whilst enjoying exotic foods from Mindil Beach Markets.

* Devour many flat whites whilst in Australia.

* Host a really girly afternoon tea.

* Host a succesful dinner party.

There! Goals are set. 2011…bring it on! Can’t wait to see what you have up your sleeve!

Leave a Reply

