Eggplant and Ricotta Rolls

14 Oct

During the week, I often find myself with absolutely no inspiration to make anything special or exciting for dinner.

I want to make something delicious.

I want to try something new.

Instead, I find myself aimlessly wandering up and down the aisles of Whole Foods, scratching my head and mumbling to myself, before becoming exasperated and emerging from the store with the closest, most-convenient ingredients that I can get my hands on. In an effort to rid my nights of this frustrating ritual, I am attempting to expand my repertoire of week-night meals so that I am not searching for inspiration whilst at the store. Last night, I resorted back to my trusty and reliable www.taste.com.au for some much-needed inspiration and discovered Eggplant and Ricotta Rolls.

New, vegetarian, quick; it turned out to be exactly what I was looking for. Being that I am prone to laziness, I combined two recipes so that I could get the best of both worlds; tasty, yet fast (one of the recipes encouraged “cheating” by using pre-made tomato pasta sauce). The two recipes are here and here. The end result was a bubbling, cheesy vegetarian bake – perfect for cold nights.

Eggplant and Ricotta Rolls – Serves 4

Drizzle of olive oil for pan, and more oil for coating the eggplant slices
1/2 a white onion, finely chopped
1 clove of garlic, crushed and diced
1 large jar (about 739mls) of pre-made tomato pasta sauce
2 medium eggplants, cut into 1cm thick slices, length-ways
480 grams (2 cups) of fresh ricotta cheese
1/2 cup of chopped fresh basil
1/4 cup of finely chopped chives
70 grams (1 cup) of finely grated parmesan
85 grams (3/4 cup) coarsely grated mozzarella
Basil pesto, to serve.

Method:
Preheat a BBQ grill to a high heat. Preheat oven to 200C. Cut the eggplants into 1 cm thick slices length-ways.

Drizzle about 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a frying pan and place over a medium heat on the stove-top. Gentle sauté onions and garlic until they have softened, add the pre-made tomato pasta sauce and allow to gentle simmer for about 10 minutes.

Whilst the sauce is simmering, lightly drizzle your eggplant slices with olive oil and grill them on the BBQ until they are char-grilled and soft.

Place the ricotta, basil, chives and three-quarters of the parmesan in a medium bowl and stir until well combined. Taste and season with pepper.

Place 1 tablespoon of the ricotta mixture on 1 eggplant slice. Roll up firmly to enclose filling. Place the roll, seam side down, in a 30 X 20cm (base measurement) baking dish.

Repeat with remaining mixture and eggplant. Pour the sauce evenly over the rolls. Sprinkle with the mozzarella and remaining parmesan. Bake in oven for 10 minutes or until the mozzarella melts.

Serve with an optional dollop of pesto, and there it is, a hearty dinner on the table in about half an hour.

One Response to “Eggplant and Ricotta Rolls”

  1. Melody Wey November 1, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    This looks delicious and exactly what I’m looking for! Warm, comforting and filling. Perfect for a cold November dinner.

Leave a Reply

