JJ Bean

7 Jun

Various locations
www.jjbeancoffee.com

Brief Description: A Vancouver-based coffee chain with over 10 locations. Great coffee and delicious fresh baked goods.

I will happily confess that I am a coffee snob. Recently, I have found out that I am not alone; a lot of my colleagues are also self-proclaimed coffee snobs and so we spend a lot of time discussing our favourite cafés and the fundamentals of what makes a good coffee. My new affiliation with JJ Bean began out of necessity. I used to be blindly loyal to Café Artigiano but due to location changes of both, my home and office, I had to expand my choices and now JJ Bean is fast becoming one of my favourite spots for that much-needed caffeine-hit. I have now tried coffee (albeit, only lattes) from their Granville Island, Commercial Drive and CBC Downtown locations, and they have all been delicious. Through trial-and-error I have found that ordering low-fat milk seems to change the flavor and the latte becomes less smooth. Now, I always stick to how they make it regardless of the added calories.

Besides smooth, milky lattes the other reason that I go back to JJ Bean is for their freshly baked, still-warm muffins. For coffee shop chain food, JJ’s is by far the most superior. Any place that bakes their food fresh rather than relying on pre-packaged, factory made baked goods, wins my loyalty every time. The type of baked goods available varies depending on the location. The Granville Island location doesn’t sell them at all, the Commercial Drive store sells a lot more variety (including yummy carrot cake) and the CBC Downtown location has muffins, scones, sandwiches, and cookies. The best is when they are fresh out of the oven and still warm. Nothing will get you through a Monday morning better than dragging yourself to work with a warm muffin and a steaming cup of latte.

9 Responses to “JJ Bean”

  1. VancityAllie June 7, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    Interesting! I did NOT know they bake it all fresh…

    • greedyguts June 9, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

      They definitely bake the muffins fresh. The rest of the baked goods taste freshly made but I’ve never actually seen them coming straight out of the oven, like I have the muffins.

  2. Murray July 19, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    Hey, Murray from JJ Bean here. I just wanted to thank you for you kind words about our cafés. We are always happy to please the coffee snobs of Vancouver – we consider ourselves to be coffee snobs too! In case you’re not yet aware, we’ve just opened our 10th location, right on the corner of Alberni & Bute.

    Also, all of our food comes from our very own bakery on Railway St., and all of the baked goods are baked on site.

    • greedyguts July 19, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

      Hey Murray! Thanks for your email. I am more than happy to spread kind words about fabulous coffee! So thank YOU! Glad you could clear up the baked goods question – those muffins are goooood! 🙂

  3. René Koop November 13, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    I also love the coffee at JJ Bean. Today I was at the Alberni & Bute location.
    I always drink espresso or Americano, as pure as coffee can gets (no sugar or milk/cream added). And I have to say, the best coffees I had here in Vancouver were at café Artigianio and JJ Bean. A lot of times at other coffee shops the Americano is too watery and lacking flavour. The barristas at JJ bean are also very good at ‘latte art’!

    • greedyguts November 13, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

      I have to admit that JJ Bean is one of my favourite go-to coffee shops. The others being Revolver and Nelson The Seagull – it just depends on where I’m at in the city as to where I go. I used to LOVE Artigiano but I personally think their quality has really slipped. I was just there again on Friday and was completely underwhelmed.

  4. Shira February 9, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

    Hey there! Nice to see such a great write-up about JJ Bean here (and to see Murray write just a great thank you) – I too work for JJ Bean Wholesale and just found your great blog on our exceptionally fine restaurant city! Looking forward to reading up on the great spots you mentioned here. Many of the restaurants you feature here are my customers – looking forward to perusing! Cheers! Shira

    • greedyguts February 10, 2012 at 9:58 am #

      Thanks for dropping by Shira. I absolutely love JJ Bean – they are my go to coffee shop during the week (I save weekends for trying new places). Hope you enjoy reading my blog half as much as I enjoy writing it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ode to Muffin | Life Out the Window - May 19, 2012

    […] Greedy Guts: JJ Bean Muffins […]

Leave a Reply

