My New Pot of Herbs

1 Apr

For as long as I can remember I have always wanted to grow my own herbs. Sure, in my 30 years I have made numerous attempts to grow my own herbs but it has just never ended very well. When you live in the tropics, herbs do not want to grow unless you baby them. I couldn’t be bothered and so they died. When I moved to Vancouver, I bought a basil plant and it seemed to be going well. When summer rolled around I was rewarded with fresh basil leaves to sprinkle over my tomato and mozzarella salad (heaven!!). Unfortunately, it all came to an end when my sister and I returned from vacation to a dry basil skeleton. After a few more unsuccessful attempts, I gave up trying.

Lately, the importance of using fresh herbs in cooking has become more apparent to me. Fresh herbs noticeably elevate the flavour of the dish to another level. There really is no substitute. Dried herbs will suffice in a desperate situation but really, in my opinion, fresh herbs should be used whenever you can. That is why I went out and bought four herb plants (basil, chives, coriander and parsley) and planted them into a terracotta pot that will sit out on our balcony, awaiting my every snip! If everything goes to plan then I am looking forward to fresh herbs in summer salads this year. With my track record it doesn’t look good but one can hope!

Leave a Reply

