Asian-Style Meatballs

11 Jan

I was sitting at home one day over the Christmas break and I suddenly felt the cooking bug sinking its teeth in…I just HAD to cook something! So I visited my trusty www.taste.com.au website and searched high and low for some inspiration. The Asian recipes got my stomach rumbling and my mouth salivating and with that it was decided that I’d make a three-course meal, consisting of chicken satay skewers, prawn laksa and this recipe, Asian-style pork meatballs.

These meatballs turned out to be so delicious and packed full of flavour that I have since made them again. The first time I made them I couldn’t find any minced pork and so I used minced chicken instead and on the second time, I used minced lamb. I think it is better to stick with the lighter flavoured meats, such as chicken or pork as that way the flavours of the herbs and spices aren’t lost amongst the stronger flavour of the meat.

I found that the mixture was a little sticky on both times that I’ve made them so I just added flour to the mixture to make it a bit thicker – that seemed to work. Also, the original recipe called for the sauce to be made in a microwave however I don’t like cooking with a microwave so I figured on the stove in a saucepan would have the same effect. It tasted pretty damn good to me! This recipe will definitely become a stable in my cooking repertoire.

Asian-style Pork Meatballs – Serves 4

500g pork mince
4 green onions, ends trimmed, thinly sliced
5 water chestnuts, finely chopped
1 garlic clove, crushed
¼ cup chopped fresh coriander leaves
3 teaspoons soy sauce
3 teaspoons oyster sauce
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1 egg, lightly whisked
¼ cup plain flour
2 teaspoons peanut oil

Sauce
250ml (1 cup) chicken stock
3 teaspoons soy sauce
3 teaspoons oyster sauce
2 teaspoons corn flour

Steamed rice, to serve
Steamed Asian greens, to serve

Method:
Combine the mince, green onions, water chestnut, garlic, coriander, soy sauce, oyster sauce, sesame oil and egg in a bowl. Roll 1 tablespoonful of the mixture into a ball. Transfer to a plate. Repeat with the remaining mixture.

Place the flour on a plate. Season with pepper. Roll meatballs in the flour to coat.

Preheat oven to 180°C. Heat half the peanut oil in a large frying pan over medium-high heat. Add half the meatballs. Cook for 4 minutes or until just browned. Transfer to a 2L (8-cup) capacity baking dish. Repeat with remaining peanut oil and meatballs, reheating the pan between batches.

To make the sauce, combine the stock, soy sauce, oyster sauce and corn flour in a small saucepan and whilst stirring over a low to medium heat, reduce the liquid slightly.

Pour the sauce over the meatballs. Cover and bake in oven for 30 minutes or until the meatballs are cooked through. Divide rice and greens among serving bowls. Top with the meatballs and sauce to serve. 

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

