Chocolate Croissant Pudding

21 Dec

Even though I had never made one before, I could not get the idea of baking a chocolate croissant pudding out of my head for the past few weeks. Perhaps it was all of the talk about Thomas Haas opening his new store that had me dreaming about the tasty goodness of buttery croissants, plump full of dark chocolate. Whatever the reason, I knew that I had to make one and it would have to be soon!

My sisters birthday presented itself as the perfect opportunity to indulge myself in finally making a chocolate croissant pudding. It was very easy and the pay-off was a warm, spongy dessert in which you could use your spoon to go searching for pools of warm chocolate. There are numerous recipes on-line but the one that I used was from www.taste.com.au (of course!). The feedback was that it was a bit eggy, so if I cooked it again I would probably use one less egg. Or I’d maybe try another recipe – Nigella has a tempting one. Note: make sure that you use good croissants for your pudding. I believe that the quality of the croissant that you use would make a big difference to the final outcome.

Chocolate Croissant Pudding – Serves 4

3 chocolate croissants, cut into 2cm pieces
4 eggs
300ml thickened light cream
3/4 cup milk
1/4 cup caster sugar
1 tablespoon icing sugar, to serve

Method:
Lightly grease a 5cm deep, 17cm x 26cm ovenproof dish. Place croissants in dish. Whisk eggs, cream, milk and sugar in a jug until combined. Pour over croissant pieces. Cover and stand at room temperature (if it’s a very warm day, place in the fridge) for 1 hour. Preheat oven to 180°C. Bake pudding for 40 to 45 minutes or until custard is set. Dust lightly with icing sugar. Serve warm.

2 Responses to “Chocolate Croissant Pudding”

  1. Amber Flavell March 19, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

    I made a version of this a couple of weeks ago – that worked wonderfully. I stuffed a medium sized standard croissant with premium dark chocolate – simply slice a croissant in half (not right through) and put a single row of dark chocolate inside – i sat them in a oven safe pan – and fill the pan with a double mix of the above custard recipe with 6 eggs rather than 8 and 2 tablespoons of custard powder. It was amazing and very well received by my guests. The custard was still quite eggy – but delicious and when you cut into your croissant with your spoon melted dark chocolate oozes out – mmmmmmm

    • greedyguts March 20, 2010 at 8:36 am #

      Mmmmmm, sounds delicious. Not quite sure how to fix the “egginess”. Glad you tried it.

Leave a Reply

