Soda Water Scones

7 Dec

Considering that Australia and Canada are both Commonwealth countries, it surprises me that I have yet to have a great scone here in Canada. I would have thought that the scone would have been something from England that was worth adopting. Australia has embraced scones with open arms and I have very happy childhood memories of slathering gooey jam and whipped cream high onto warm, freshly baked scones. I am confused when I find “scones” in coffee shops that resemble rock hard muffins. No, no, no!! This will not do. Scones are meant to be small, delicate and light – quite the opposite of what I have seen in coffee shops. Even when I went for a high tea at the Vancouver Fairmont their scones were just so-so, although they were the closest thing to the real deal that I’ve seen in awhile.

A few Sundays ago I held a ladies only afternoon tea at my place for some friends. The aim of the day was for everyone to bake something scrumptious and share it, whilst we drank tea and gossiped. It was a lot of fun and I am proud to say that I introduced my friends to the way scones should be. My mum sent me this recipe and I am so happy that it turned out well. The recipe really couldn’t be any easier and the results brought back those childhood memories all over again. For the best taste results, eat them whilst they are still warm. Dollop on a spoonful of good raspberry or strawberry jam and whipped cream (fresh is best) and sit back and enjoy.

*Please note that I did not create this recipe. My mum shared it with me but I don’t have anyone to officially credit this recipe to.

Soda Water Scones – makes 6 to 8 scones

2 cups of white flour
A pinch of salt
2 teaspoons of baking powder
1 teaspoon of baking soda
2/3 cup soda water (or substitute lemonade for soda water)
2/3 cup cream

Method
Preheat the oven to 220C. In a bowl, sieve the flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda three times. In a separate bowl add soda water and cream together and mix. Gently fold the soda water/cream mixture into the flour mixture. Knead slightly on a surface covered with a sprinkle of flour. Pat out the mixture so that it is 2 to 3cm thick and cut out scones using the mouth of a glass or a round cookie cutter (about 2 inches wide is a good size). Cook for 15 minutes until lightly golden.

One Response to “Soda Water Scones”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Surprise! It’s afternoon tea! « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - November 28, 2011

    […] tea party is complete without freshly baked scones with jam and cream so I used my old faithful soda water scone recipe. I ended up buying a lot of the treats such as the petit fours, madeleines, and the macarons (some […]

Leave a Reply

