Irish Heather – Long Table Series – Round 2 (Event)

13 Sep

210 Carrall Street
Vancouver, BC
V6B 2J2

T: 604 688 9779
http://ltsmenu.blogspot.com/

Brief Description: A fantastic evening at the Irish Heather that combines beer, a big plate of comfort food and meeting new friends, all whilst managing to keep the financial belt well and truly reigned in.

I had such a great time at our first Long Table Series dinner that there was no doubt that I would return – so long as I could get a reservation. Dining on mounds of succulent suckling pig, drinking unique beers and meeting friendly people was a fantastic way to spend a Tuesday evening. So, the very next day after our suckling pig dinner, I made it my mission to wrangle a few more friends into going to Long Table Series, Round 2 – veal schnitzel with mashed potatoes, carrots and anchovy butter. I say wrangle but, really, it wasn’t very difficult to talk people into parting with $12 in exchange for a heaping plate of delicious food and a cold, crisp beer.

Veal Schnitzel with mashed poatoes, carrots and anchovy butter

Although I was extremely happy with the suckling pig dinner, I wasn’t prepared for how wonderful the veal schnitzel would be. It was waaaay better than the suckling pig (in my opinion). Even the anchovy butter, which I’d had concerns about, was incredible and added great depth of flavour to an already tasty dish. The mashed potatoes were perfect for scooping onto a piece of schnitzel and using this to mop up pools of anchovy butter. Yummo!

Steam Whistle Pilsner

The Steam Whistle Pilsner was light and refreshing with a crisp finish. This is exactly how I like my beers, so I was instantly won over. Others in my group, however, did not enjoy it as much, preferring the more robust beers. I was even more impressed when I found out that the company is Canadian. Go Canada!

Final Thoughts: If you haven’t managed to get yourself a reservation for one of the dinners, get on it! Reservations are filling up FAST! And you won’t be disappointed.

Irish Heather on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

