Photo Visit – Brunch at Wildebeest – December 2012

18 Dec

120 West Hastings
Vancouver, BC
V6B 1G8

T: 604 687 6880
www.wildebeest.ca

I am likely going to kick myself for writing this post but, thanks to a recommendation by a friend, I have discovered another great brunch spot in Vancouver. They are few and far between but, after two successful recent visits, I am adding Wildebeest to my brunch hot-spots list.

I was sans camera the first time that I visited Wildebeest so I didn’t capture pictures of the brunch that time around. However, on my last visit, I was armed and dangerous with my camera, and an appetite.

I love the decor – the space is very cool and rustic. I learned that the owners had toured up and down the West Coast looking for inspiration and had created some of the unique pieces themselves. The food focus should be quite obvious from the name of the restaurant, but in case you need more clarity, think meat, bones, and tongues. It is certainly not a place for the squeamish (or vegetarian).

The brunch menu is short and sweet and ranges from a simple eggs and bacon or bierwurst breakfast to the more adventurous pork jowl, long pepper oats, bourbon barrel-aged maple syrup, and poached egg. For the less adventurous, there is apple bread French toast, or an omelet, with foraged & cultivated mushrooms, Comte, and arugula salad. Prices start at $12 and go up to $23 for the whole hog; the Wildebeest brunch (pictured below).

Scrambled eggs, bone marrow, parsley salad, and toast – $15

Wildebeest brunch; Angus beef bavette, smoked bierwurst, bacon, scrambled eggs, and toast – $23

On my last visit, I ordered the Wildebeest brunch. I found the steak to be perfectly cooked and seasoned (flakes of salt sprinkled over the top), the eggs were creamy and, again, well-seasoned, and the smoked bierwurst is a must-order. Speaking of must-orders, the thrice-cooked potatoes that are served alongside dishes, are absolutely divine. I could eat just a plate of these and be extremely happy.

Brunch is served on weekends from 10am to 2pm.

Wildebeest on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Photo Visit – Brunch at Wildebeest – December 2012”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Photo Visit – Brunch at Wildebeest (again) – December 2012 « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - December 23, 2012

    [...] we were just at Wildebeest last week, B and I visited for brunch again yesterday and we were happy to see that the restaurant was quite [...]

  2. Photo Visit – Wildebeest – January 2013 « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - January 27, 2013

    [...] written about the the interior of Wildebeest before, and whilst it isn’t anything particularly adventurous, the space has an [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

