Photo Visit – Fable – October 2012

30 Oct

1944 West 4th Avenue
Vancouver, BC
V6J 1M7

T: 604 732 1322
www.fablekitchen.ca

Weekend brunch is pretty much my favourite time to explore restaurants around the city. Yes, dinner service is typically a stronger experience, but during brunch you are able to get a sense of what the restaurant is like without having to spend dinner prices. With your dollar going further than what it would at dinner, you also get to spread the love to many more local restaurants.

Just recently B and I have eaten brunch at Yolk’s Breakfast, Catch 122, Tableau, West (of course!), and we have had two recent brunch visits to Fable in Kitsilano. When we were at Fable two weeks ago, I tried the scrambled eggs, which were served in a small mason jar and topped with a foam, and finished with brioche, rösti, and sauteed spinach and bacon (no photo, sorry!). For $12, it was not only good value for money but damn tasty too.

When I returned this weekend, I chose the farmers muffin, which was an English muffin topped with sausage, scrambled eggs, cheddar, tomato jam, and served with salad and rösti. I also ordered a side of the house bacon, which fell short of my expectations as it was incredibly dry (no, not crunchy), which made it quite difficult to eat.

Farmers Muffin - $10

House Bacon – $4

This is just a photo visit so I won’t go into too much detail but I did think that the scrambled egg dish from my previous visit left more of an impression than the farmers muffin. In my opinion, I felt that the sausage needed more seasoning and the tomato jam was too sweet and over-powering.

Prices are extremely reasonable for brunch (except for the $12 caesar!) and it is interesting to see that both times that I’ve been in there for brunch, it has been absolutely packed. The only times that I saw Refuel that busy was in the final few weeks so whatever Fable is doing appears to be getting butts in seats. I’ve yet to be wowed but I’d go back for brunch.

Fable Kitchen on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 258 other followers

