First Glance – The Sardine Can – August 2012

29 Aug

26 Powell Street
Vancouver, BC
V6A 1E7

T: 604 568 1350
www.thesardinecan.ca

I have been eager to dine at The Sardine Can since it opened in late May but I have found it difficult to make a visit happen. Well, it finally did happen, my friends. My first visit was on Saturday evening and wow, I could be in love. (I’m holding out on committing to the “l” word until more visits have been had). Seriously, what’s not to love intensly like about drinking some cava and munching on some delicious tapas?

The name, The Sardine Can, is perfectly fitting as the restaurant is intimate, with limited seating. However, this is the intention. It should be seen as a cozy place that you can pop into for a quick drink and light meal before going on your merry way to another restaurant or to bar-hop. I loved all the small touches, such as the bill that came out on a sardine can, and the cute sandwich board out the front, also designed as a sardine can. So damn cute. I’m not all about the design however, and thankfully, the food spoke loud and clear.

Smoked sardines on toast – $5

Roasted piquillo peppers stuffed with salt cod – $10

Tomato and manchego toasts – $5

Meatballs cooked in tomato and Rioja – $10

Chocolate terrine with chili, olive oil, sea salt, toast – $5.50

Not only was the food absolutely delicious (except the stuffed peppers dish which was way too fishy for me), but it was quite affordable. B and I had two drinks each and the food above and it came to $35 each, including tax and tip. I am very keen to return to try more of the menu, such as the spicy garlic prawns, the chorizo sausage cooked in cherry, the plate of Pata Negra and Serrano hams, and the speck wrapped prunes filled with Mahon.

I was so impressed with The Sardine Can that it is likely I will be having dinner again there tonight. That’s the thing with new crushes, you can never get enough.

Sardine Can on Urbanspoon

One Response to “First Glance – The Sardine Can – August 2012”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Photo Visit – The Sardine Can – August 2012 « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - August 31, 2012

    […] already wrote about The Sardine Can this week but after my first visit I developed a bit of a crush on the place so I rushed back for […]

Leave a comment